Brittney Spencer Honors Favorite Artists With ‘Bigger Than The Song’ Single From Upcoming Debut Album

My Stupid Life arrives via Elektra Records on January 19.

By Scott Bernstein Oct 2, 2023 1:57 pm PDT

Nashville-based singer-songwriter Brittney Spencer will release her debut full-length studio album, My Stupid Life, via Elektra on January 19. Spencer previewed the 13-track LP by sharing its lead single “Bigger Than The Song,” a “tribute to artists who curated the soundtrack to her life.”

My Stupid Life was recorded at Nashville facilities Sound Emporium Studios and Blackbird Studio. Daniel Tashian produced the album with the exception of two tracks. Marcus “MarcLo” Lomax was behind the board for “Bigger Than The Song” and Romil Hemnani produced “New To This Town.” Guests who appear on My Stupid Life include Grace Potter, Jason Isbell and Maren Morris.

Brittney Spencer stated the following about the highly-anticipated album:

“This feels like a long time coming. It took me three years from the time I released my first EP Compassion to now to release my first album. These songs serve as my introduction to country music and I wanted to give them all the time and care that they (and my fans) deserve. I wrote a lot of songs from the back corners of my mind because I wanted to take a good, deeper look at myself and create something true to who and where I am at this time in my life. The more I put the pen to my feelings and thoughts, the more I realize I’ve heard similar sentiments throughout my life. Through making this album, I’ve learned we’re not alone in our heads, and I hope this album hugs the tiny, loud parts of our overthinking brains that sometimes need it most.”

Reba McEntire, Aretha Franklin, Alanis Morissette, Janet Jackson, Dolly Parton, Beyonce and Britney Spears are among the artists shouted out by Spencer within “Bigger Than The Song.” Watch the visual for the track below:

Loading tour dates

My Stupid Life Tracklist

  1. New To This Town
  2. I Got Time
  3. Night In (Phone Call)
  4. Night In
  5. Bigger Than The Song
  6. My First Rodeo
  7. The Last Time
  8. Deeper
  9. First Car Feeling
  10. Desperate
  11. If You Say So
  12. My Stupid Life
  13. Reaching Out
JamBase Collections