Watch boygenius Welcome Dave Grohl On Drums For Halloween-Appropriate Song At Hollywood Bowl

Dave joined Phoebe, Lucy and Julien for “Satanist.”

By Nate Todd Nov 1, 2023 10:11 am PDT

boygenius concluded their fall tour with a Halloween concert at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles on Tuesday. Phoebe Bridgers, Julien Baker and Lucy Dacus welcomed Foo FightersDave Grohl on drums for “Satanist” off the supergroup’s 2023 debut full-length studio album, The Record.

boygenius’ Halloween concert — with Dacus dressed as the Father, Baker dressed as the Son and Bridgers dressed as the Holy Ghost — saw the trio and their band performing every track from The Record, kicking things off with opening cut, “With You Without Them,” followed by “$20.”

Grohl, wearing ghoulish face paint, then took the throne behind the kit to add a typically powerhouse drum performance on The Record’s ninth track, “Satanist,” over crunchy guitars from Dacus, Baker and Bridgers. Check out clips of the Grohl sit-in below:

Following additional favorites from The Record “Emily I’m Sorry,” “True Blue” and “Cool About It,” boygenius convened on a B-stage for a complete rending of their October 2023 four-song EP, The Rest: “Black Hole,” “Afraid Of Heights,” “Voyager” and “Powers.” boygenius closed their Halloween show with a pair of tunes — “Ketchum, ID” and “Salt In The Wound” — off their 2018 self-titled debut EP. The trio next head to Saturday Night Live to serve as the musical guests on November 11.

Loading tour dates


boygenius at Hollywood Bowl

  • Without You Without Them
  • $20
  • Satanist  
  • Emily I'm Sorry
  • True Blue
  • Cool About It
  • Souvenir
  • Bite the Hand
  • Revolution 0
  • Stay Down
  • Leonard Cohen
  • Me & My Dog
  • We're in Love
  • Anti‐Curse  
  • Letter to an Old Poet
  • Not Strong Enough
  • Black Hole  
  • Afraid of Heights  
  • Voyager  
  • Powers  
  • Good News  
  • Motion Sickness  
  • Night Shift  
  • Ketchum, ID
  • Salt in the Wound
JamBase Collections