Bob Weir Preps ‘Ace: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition’ Reissue

Listen to a brand new mix of "Cassidy" from the forthcoming reissue.

By Scott Bernstein Oct 5, 2022 8:36 am PDT

Bob Weir will reissue his 1972 debut solo album as Ace: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition on January 13. The collection features a remastered new mix of the original album along with performances of each track from an April 3, 2022 concert at Radio City Music Hall celebrating the LP’s 50th anniversary. Remastered “Cassidy” audio has been shared as a preview of the set.

The show at Radio City Music Hall was the second of two special concerts at the New York City venue. Bob Weir & Wolf Bros featuring The Wolfpack horns and strings played Ace in its entirety each night along with special guests Tyler Childers and Brittney Spencer. Weir’s performance of “Black-Throated Wind” from Radio City will be released this Friday, for one day only, as part of the all-star compilation Good Music To Ensure Safe Abortion Access To All. The compilation of previously unreleased recordings comes out via Bandcamp on Bandcamp Friday with all net proceeds going towards Abortion Care Network, Brigid Alliance and NOISE FOR NOW.

Grateful Dead guitarist Bob Weir recorded Ace in early 1972 at Wally Heider’s Studio in San Francisco. While Weir didn’t initially plan to have his GD bandmates back him on the LP, each musician besides Ron “Pigpen” McKernan wound up contributing to Ace. “I pretty much knew in the back of my mind what would happen,” Weir explained to Crawdaddy shortly after work on the album was completed. “I go and get the time booked and start putting the material together. Everybody gets wind of the fact I got the time booked and I may be going into the studio. So, one by one, they start coming around…”

Ace features such treasured songs as “Playing In The Band,” “Mexicali Blues” and “Black-Throated Wind.” The album also saw Bobby begin working with lyricist John Perry Barlow. “Cassidy” and “Looks Like Rain” represent the long-running collaboration. Ace: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition will arrive on double-CD, vinyl and through digital streaming services.

Listen to the 2023 Remaster “Cassidy” mix below:

Loading tour dates

Ace: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Tracklist

Disc One: Original Album (2023 Remaster)

  1. Greatest Story Ever Told
  2. Black-Throated Wind
  3. Walk In The Sunshine
  4. Playing In The Band
  5. Looks Like Rain
  6. Mexicali Blues
  7. One More Saturday Night
  8. Cassidy

Disc Two: Live at Radio City Music Hall, New York NY (4/3/22)

  1. Greatest Story Ever Told – featuring Tyler Childers
  2. Black-Throated Wind
  3. Walk In The Sunshine – featuring Brittney Spencer
  4. Playing In The Band
  5. Looks Like Rain – featuring Brittney Spencer
  6. Mexicali Blues – Intro
  7. Mexicali Blues
  8. One More Saturday Night
  9. Cassidy
JamBase Collections