Blitzen Trapper Announces 10th Anniversary Edition Of ‘Furr’ & Tour


Portland, Oregon’s Blitzen Trapper will issue a deluxe edition of their breakthrough 2008 album Furr on September 14 via Sub Pop. The band will also honor the LP’s 10th anniversary by performing the record in its entirety at each stop of a North American Fall Tour that spans September through November.

Furr is Blitzen Trapper’s fourth studio album and first for Sub Pop. The deluxe edition is accompanied by 10 extra tracks from the same sessions that yielded Furr as well as a pair of songs laid down “Live At KCRW” during a tour in support of the LP. Seven of the tracks were previously unreleased while “War Is Placebo” and “Booksmart Baby” were issued as the band’s 2009 Record Store Day single and “Maybe Baby” was the A-side of their 2011 Record Store Day single. In addition, the deluxe set includes a Q&A with actor and BT supporter Rainn Wilson of The Office as well as new liner notes and a track-by-track description from lead singer-songwriter Eric Earley. Furr (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) is currently available for pre-order in vinyl, CD, cassette and digital editions via Sub Pop’s online store.

Blitzen Trapper kicks off their fall tour with an appearance at the Rifflandia Festival in Victoria, British Columbia. The band then makes their way across Canada before dipping in the Midwest for shows in Minneapolis, Indianapolis and Chicago. Next up are performances in Hamilton, Ottawa and Montreal to end September.

The five-piece begins October at the Great Scott in Allston, Massachusetts on the 1st. From there, Blitzen Trapper plays Brooklyn, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., Carrboro (North Carolina), Atlanta, Nashville, St. Louis, Kansas City, Lincoln and Boulder to complete the first leg of the tour. The folk-rock act returns to the road at Sierra Nevada Brewing Company in Chico, California on November 8. A slot at the Offbeat Music Festival in Reno will be followed by stops in the California cities of Novato, Sebastopol, Solana Beach, Los Angeles and San Francisco ahead of a performance in Seattle. Blitzen Trapper are currently slated to end the tour with a hometown show at Portland’s Doug Fir Lounge on November 17.

Each fall show will feature a full performance of Furr followed by a career-spanning set. Tickets go on sale this Friday, June 22 at 10 a.m. local time.

Furr (10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) Tracklist

  1. Sleepytime in the Western World
  2. Gold for Bread
  3. Furr
  4. God & Suicide
  5. Fire & Fast Bullets
  6. Saturday Nite
  7. Black River Killer
  8. Not Your Lover
  9. Love U
  10. War on Machines
  11. Stolen Shoes & a Rifle
  12. Echo/Always On/EZ Con
  13. Lady on the Water
  14. War Is Placebo
  15. Play
  16. Simple Tree
  17. Booksmart Baby
  18. Heroes of Doubt
  19. Maybe Baby
  20. Ballad of Bird Love
  21. Hard Heart
  22. Other People’s Money
  23. On My Way to the Bay
  24. Rent-a-Cop
  25. God & Suicide (Live at KCRW)
  26. Furr (Live at KCRW)

Tour Dates for
Blitzen Trapper