Billy Strings Fits Debut & Rarities Into Cleveland Concert And Announces Port Chester Run

By Nate Todd Nov 20, 2019 11:39 am PST

Billy Strings hit the Beachland Ballroom in Cleveland on Tuesday night where he and his band debuted a song by country star Hank Locklin and dusted off some tunes for the Cleveland crowd. Additionally, Strings confirmed a two-night run set for January 17 and 18 at the famed Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York.

Strings and company got the first set underway in Cleveland with “Thirst Mutilator” into “Dust In A Baggie.” The first set also included the debut of Locklin’s “A Good Woman’s Love.” Strings closed out the frame with “Hollow Heart.”

The second set got underway with “Watch It Fall,” which featured a harmony ending. Strings also dusted off a cover of Bill Monroe’s “Road To Columbus” for the first time since October 20, 2018. The set came to a close with a cover of The String Cheese Incident’s “Black Clouds” which contained elements of “Light My Fire” by The Doors and Deep Purple’s “Smoke On The Water.”

Billy Strings saved another rarity for the encore with a single mic, guitar and mandolin only version of The Beatles’ “Here Comes The Sun” for the first time since December 29, 2018. Check out video of Billy Strings doing The Beatles classic captured by Al Khaleel below:

Setlist (via Phantasy Tour)

Set One: Thirst Mutilator > Dust In A Baggie, I’m Still Here> Last Train To Clarksville > All Of Tomorrow, Pretty Daughter, A Good Woman’s Love[1], Doin’ Things Right, Down The Road, Taking Water, Walk On Boy, Katy Daley, Hollow Heart

Set Two: Watch It Fall[2], Down In The Hollow, Long Forgotten Dream, Road To Columbus > Nobody’s Love Is Like Mine, Highway Hypnosis, Banks Of The Ohio, Old Home Place, Love Like Me, Black Clouds[3][4]

Encore: Here Comes The Sun[5][6]


  • [1] FTP
  • [2]w/harmony ending
  • [3]Light My Fire tease before song
  • [4]Smoke On The Water tease
  • [5]Full band around single mic, guitar and mando only
  • [6]”We’re waitin'”

Tickets for Billy Strings’ Capitol Theatre concerts go on sale at 12 p.m. ET via Ticketmaster (1/17, 1/18).

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections