Bill Callahan Announces New Album ‘YTI⅃AƎЯ’

The lo-fi artist also added a string of November 2022 tour dates in California.

By Scott Bernstein Aug 15, 2022 1:40 pm PDT

Bill Callahan detailed a new studio album entitled YTI⅃AƎЯ. The 12-track record arrives via Drag City on October 14 with vinyl due out in 2023.

Callahan teamed with guitarist Matt Kinsey, bassist/vocalist Emmett Kelly, pianist/vocalist Sarah Ann Phillips and drummer Jim White for the majority of the follow-up to 2020’s Gold Record. The musician formerly known as Smog also enlisted Carl Smith on contra alto clarinet and the brass section of Mike St. Clair and Derek Phelps to contribute.

While Callahan has yet to share any tracks from YTILAER, he issued the following statement in regards to his process and motivation for the album:

“I wanted to make a record that addressed or reflected the current climate. It felt like it was necessary to rouse people — rouse their love, their kindness, their anger, rouse anything in them. Get their senses working again. I guess there was already plenty of anger! But we needed a better anger. To get out of this hypnagogic state. Hypnagogic rage. Disassociated rage that destroys the community and leaves only the individual eating themselves alive instead of feeding others. We were born to feed others. We have milk, breasts. We have language, tongues. We have music, ears. All to feed.

At the time it felt like we were coming out of something, getting clear of it. So I was picturing songs that would make sense to take before an audience at this crucial juncture — venturing out — where things could go either way. A reintroduction to the basics of life. Of human interaction. Face to face. A new clear vision. A new way. Which is probably just an old way we’d abandoned somewhere back there as we retreated into our screened, blindered existence.

Sometimes you forget the most basic things. The biggest things! And it just takes a little nudge to get your head back on track. I wanted sounds and words that made you feel and that lifted you up. But first there was a need to bond, to clear the air. Or to just acknowledge the air. So there is some of that on the record. I went for horns because horns are heralds, triumphs, second line funerals and just breath forced through a metal maze or amusement park slide. And I wanted voices, I wanted multiple voices, not just mine. There is too much of just mine right now. So there are 6 or 7 people singing on this record.

Listening to this record takes one hour. Ah hour sounds like a year to me these days. Taking an hour of someone’s life. I fault the internet. I fault ourselves for falling for the internet. An hour is actually lovely, nothing, a lifetime. You have to live that lifetime though in order to appreciate the hour. I’m not suggesting people must listen to this record all the way through in one sitting. It IS sequenced for that particular purpose, though, in case anyone wants to.”

Bill Callahan will hit the road in November. The lo-fi artist will start the month with a U.K. run. Callahan then will play a series of tour dates in California. Callahan will make stops in Sonoma on November 19, San Francisco on November 20, Santa Cruz on November 21, Ojai on November 22, San Luis Obispo on November 24 and Pioneertown on November 25 before ending the trek in Los Angeles on November 26.

Loading band summary

YTI⅃AƎЯ Tracklist

  1. First Bird
  2. Everyway
  3. Bowevil
  4. Partition
  5. Lily
  6. Naked Souls
  7. Coyotes
  8. Drainface
  9. Natural Information
  10. The Horse
  11. Planets
  12. Last One At The Party
JamBase Collections