The Avett Brothers Offer ‘Bleeding White’ Live Debut In Worcester


The Avett Brothers celebrated the release of their new album, Closer Than Together, at the DCU Center in Worcester, Massachussets on Friday night with support from Lake Street Dive. Seth Avett led the group through the live debut of Closer Than Together opener “Bleeding White” towards the end of their 20-song performance.

“This next song is the first song off our new album,” Avett told the crowd ahead of “Bleeding White” in a reference to Robin Zander’s “Surrender” introduction from Cheap Trick At Budokan that was sampled by the Beastie Boys for Check Your Head’s “Jimmy James.” Seth played electric guitar, Scott Avett was on piano and bassist Bob Crawford went electric for The Avett Brothers’ “Bleeding White” debut.

The North Carolina-based band unveiled the live version of Closer Than Together track “We Americans” one night earlier in Wallingford, Connecticut. Last night’s concert included another take on “We Americans” as well as “High Steppin’,” “Tell The Truth” and “Who Will I Hold” from Closer Than Together.

Watch The Avett Brothers perform “Bleeding White” thanks to fan-shot video captured by jethronh below:


The Avett Brothers at DCU Center

  • Shame
  • Die Die Die
  • High Steppin'
  • Satan Pulls the Strings
  • Tell the Truth
  • Live and Die
  • We Americans
  • Ain't No Man
  • Laundry Room
  • Talk on Indolence
  • I Wish I Was
  • Murder in the City
  • Left on Laura, Left on Lisa
  • Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise
  • Bleeding White  
  • Who Will I Hold
  • Salina
  • I and Love and You
  • Morning Song
  • No Hard Feelings

Tour Dates for The Avett Brothers