Release Day Picks: August 30th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Tool, Sheryl Crow, Whitney, Lana Del Rey, Gregg Allman, Goodnight, Texas and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Bryce Dessner and Eighth Blackbird. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Tool – Fear Inoculum

The Scoop: After 13 long years and a wait of more than 10,000 days, a new Tool album has finally arrived. Tool has been at work on the material that forms Fear Innoculum since the early-2010s and went through one delay after another including medical, legal and personal issues. “Sometimes I thought we were nearly there. We’d written an album or we had some songs that were cool, and then we’d dump the whole lot and start again,” bassist Justin Chancellor explained to Metal Hammer. “It was devastating.” The album finally started to come together in March 2018, when the band went into the studio with producer Joe Barresi. The physical copy of the LP features eight tracks and spans nearly 80 minutes. Digital versions of Fear Innoculum incorporate three interlude tracks. Frontman Maynard James Keenan wrote the lyrics for all of the tracks, while Chancellor, drummer Danny Carey and guitarist Adam Jones also contributed to the music.

Sheryl Crow – Threads

The Scoop: Sheryl Crow’s new collaborative record Threads, helmed by renowned producer Steve Jordan, is not only a celebration of some of Crow’s biggest influences but also an acknowledgment of younger artists who will “pick up the torch and light the way,” as Crow said in a statement. The record features team-ups with Stevie Nicks and Maren Morris; Bonnie Raitt and Mavis Staples; Chuck D, Andra Day and Gary Clark Jr.; Eric Clapton, Sting and Brandi Carlile; Lukas Nelson and Margo Price; Joe Walsh; Keith Richards; Emmylou Harris; James Taylor and more.


Whitney – Forever Turned Around

The Scoop: Chicago’s Whitney, fronted by vocalist/drummer Julien Ehrlich and guitarist Max Kakacek, tapped Brad Cook and Jonathan Rado to produce the follow-up to their 2016 debut studio album Light Upon The Lake. The result is the 10-track Secretly Canadian release, Forever Turned Around. Ehrlich and Kakacek started writing material for their sophomore LP while on the road and eventually teamed with their original rhythm guitarist, Ziyad Asrar to record the bulk of the album in the same basement Chicago studio where Light Upon The Lake was made. The LP also features strings provided by Windy City musicians Lia Kohl and Macie Stewart. As per press materials, “Forever Turned Around is an album about partnership — romantic, familial and communal, but most importantly a love in friendship: the bonds between two best friends and creative partners and the joy and stress that comes with it. “

Lana Del Rey – Norman Fucking Rockwell!

The Scoop: Vocalist Lana Del Rey’s sixth studio album, Norman Fucking Rockwell!, was co-produced by Del Rey and Jack Antonoff. The 14-track album includes additional production by Rick Nowels, Zach Dawes and Andrew Watt. The follow-up to 2017’s Lust For Life features a cover of Sublime’s “Doin’ Time.” In addition to “Doin’ Time,” singles issued from the album include “Mariners Apartment Complex,” “Venice Bitch,” “hope is a dangerous thing for a woman like me to have – but I have it,” “Fuck It, I Love You” and “The Greatest.”


Gregg Allman – Laid Back (Deluxe Edition)

The Scoop: An expanded and remastered deluxe edition of Laid Back, Gregg Allman’s 1973 debut solo album is out today along with the long out of print live album The Gregg Allman Tour. Over two dozen bonus tracks consisting of unreleased demos, outtakes, alternates and new mixes are part of the Laid Back deluxe edition. Culled from 1974 performances at Carnegie Hall in New York City and The Capitol Theatre in New Jersey, The Gregg Allman Tour live album features Allman backed by Cowboy comprised of Scott Boyer, Randall Bramblett, David Brown, Chuck Leavell, Bill Stewart and Tommy Talton. Among the highlights is Allman’s rare solo acoustic live performance of “Melissa” from The Capitol Theatre on April 13, 1974.

Goodnight, Texas – Badnight, Texas – Live in San Francisco, The Heavy Metal Capital of the World

The Scoop: Back on June 27, members of Goodnight, Texas took the stage at Cafe Du Nord in San Francisco under the moniker Badnight, Texas. The trio of guitarist Avi Vinocur, bassist Jonathan Kirchner and drummer Scott Padden wound up performing heavy metal versions of Goodnight, Texas originals. Badnight, Texas – Live In San Francisco, The Heavy Metal Capital Of The World features eight tracks recorded that night at Cafe Du Nord. Kirchner mastered the LP and recorded the album with Brian Adler.


Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Bryce Dessner & Eighth Blackbird – When We Are Inhuman

The Scoop: Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy (Will Oldham) and The National‘s Bryce Dessner joined the ensemble Eighth Blackbird for the collaborative album, When We Are Inhuman. “I think of Will’s songs as the closest thing we have now to classic, traditional folk music,” Dessner stated. “I imagine people will still be singing them in 300 years.” Released via 37d03d, the new record includes a live cover of the late Julius Eastman’s “Stay on It.” The album also features Eighth Blackbird’s arrangements Oldham’s originals, plus a continuation of Dessner’s Murder Ballades.

Compiled by Scott Bernstein, Nate Todd and Andy Kahn.