Assembly Of Strange Wine Offers Collaboration Filled Finale In Boston

By Scott Bernstein Jan 17, 2016 2:19 pm PST

On Saturday night God Street Wine, Strangefolk and Assembly of Dust came together at Paradise Rock Club in Boston for the second of two “Assembly Of Strange Wine” performances. Just as with Friday night in Port Chester, the evening featured a set a piece from each group filled with guest spots.

Assembly Of Dust kicked off the action with guitarist Scott Metzger once again filling in for Adam Terrell. Reid Genauer and his band offered such classics as “Paul Henry,” “Lost & Amazed” and “Cluttered.” Members of God Street Wine and Strangefolk lent a hand at various points throughout the set with highlights including GSW axeman Lo Faber showing off his keyboard skills on a cover of “Ophelia” by The Band and versions of “Telling Sue” and “Harrower” that saw nearly all of God Street Wine sit-in.

God Street Wine was up next as Strangefolk headlined in Boston. Multi-instrumentalist and one-time GSW member Jason Crosby contributed to the whole set as for the second night in a row he pulled triple duty, while AOD’s Dave Diamond added percussion. Strangefolk’s Genauer and Jon Trafton emerged towards the middle of the set for the newest Wine song “Oh Wonderful One” as well as “Driving West” and a version of “Get On The Train” that featured Reid’s “Rachel” in the middle. The set concluded with the ocean-themed sequence of “Waiting For The Tide” and “Into The Sea.”

Strangefolk closed out the festivities and welcomed members of both bands throughout their set. “Diary” featured Metzger and Diamond who also contributed to a version of “Stout Hearted Man” that saw John Leccesse and Faber sit-in as well. Nearly all of GSW lent a hand on “Take It Easy,” while “Burned Down” gave Diamond a chance to get behind the kit. Strangefolk ended the evening by covering David Bowie’s “Space Oddity” accompanied by members of the other acts as part of an encore that also included “Speculator” which finished with “Space Oddity” lyrics.

Setlists (Compiled by Scott Marks)

Assembly Of Dust

Set (Entire Set With Scott Metzger): Paul Henry, All I Am Now, Cluttered*, Lost & Amazed*^, Whatever*^#, [email protected], Telling Sue&, [email protected]@

  • * with Tom Osander (God Street Wine) on auxiliary percussion
  • ^ with Jon Trafton (Strangefolk) on guitar
  • # with Luke Smith (Strangefolk) replace Dave on drums, Dave on auxiliary percussion and Dan Pifer (God Street Wine)
  • @ with Lo Faber (God Street Wine) on keys
  • & with Lo, Aaron Maxwell (God Street Wine) on guitar, Jon Bevo (God Street Wine) on keys, Jason Crosby on fiddle
  • @@ with Lo, Jon Bevo and Aaron

God Street Wine

Set (Entire Set with Jason Crosby on keys and Dave Diamond on auxiliary percussion): Epilog, Light My Candles > Stranger > Chop#, Oh Wonderful One##, Driving West##, Get On The Train## > Rachel## > Get On The Train##, Lighthouse > Imogene, Waiting For The Tide, Into The Sea

  • # with Jason Crosby on fiddle
  • ## with Jon Trafton and Reid Genauer (Strangefolk) on guitar


Set (Entire Set with Jason Crosby on keys): Valhalla, Poland, So Well, Diary#, Stout Hearted Man#%, Mama&, Take It [email protected] > Memory Of A Free [email protected]*, Burned Down^

Encore: Space Oddity+, Speculator+-

  • # with Scott Metzger on guitar, Dave Diamond (Assembly Of Dust) on auxiliary percussion
  • % John Leccesse (Assembly Of Dust) replaces Erik on bass, Lo on keys
  • & Lo on guitar and keys, Aaron on guitar/vocals, Bevo replaces Jason on keys + Dave, Tom & Adam on percussion
  • @ with Lo and Bevo on keys, Jason and Aaron on guitars, Tom on percussion
  • * Chorus Only
  • ^ Dave replaces Luke on drums
  • + Bevo on keys, Lo and Aaron on guitars, John on bass, Erik and Dave on percussion
  • – Ended with Space Oddity lyrics
JamBase Collections