Arooj Aftab Announces New Album ‘Night Reign’ & Shares Seductive Single, Tour Dates

Watch the video for the highly anticipated album’s lead single, “Raat Ki Rani.”

By Scott Bernstein Apr 18, 2024 11:31 am PDT

Arooj Aftab will release a new album entitled Night Reign via Verve Records on May 31. The Pakistani singer, composer and producer confirmed tour dates in support of the follow-up to 2021’s Vulture Prince, and unveiled the LP’s lead single, “Raat Ki Rani.”

Vulture Prince put Aftab on the map, as Arooj’s major label debut scored her a Grammy nomination for Best New Artist with its track “Mohabbat” winning for Best Global Music Performance. In 2023, Aftab teamed with Vijay Iyer and Shahzad Ismaily for the collaborative record Love In Exile. Iyer contributed to Night Reign as did Cautious Clay, Chocolate Genius, Moor Mother, Petros Klampanis, James Francies, Kaki King, Joel Ross and Maeve Gilchrist.


“Night” is the focus of the fittingly-titled nine-track album Night Reign. “Entirely in her own voice and through her own story, she delves into the multifaceted, bold and fascinating realm that comes to life after dark. Some nights are for falling in love, some are for solitude and introspection, some are to be annoyed at a forced social gathering–and so go the stories of Night Reign,” proclaimed a press release heralding the album.

Arooj Aftab tapped actress Tessa Thompson to direct the “Raat Ki Rani” video, which was produced by Kishori Rajan. “‘Raat Ki Rani’ is about a person whose allure, magnetism, and charisma floats through a beautiful evening garden party,” Aftab said of the intoxicating track. Watch Arooj Aftab’s visual for “Raat Ki Rani” below:


A string of July shows in the Northeast and Chicago starts Aftab’s North American tour surrounding Night Reign. Arooj will then team with Khruangbin for fall concerts in Washington D.C., St. Louis and New Orleans. A West Coast run is set for January 2025. This summer, she’ll perform at select festivals in the UK and Europe before a swing of headline shows across the Atlantic October 12 – November 12.

A complete list of Arooj Aftab tour dates and ticketing links can be found below with more to come.

Loading tour dates


Night Reign Tracklist

  1. Aey Nehin
  2. Na Gul
  3. Autumn Leaves (ft. James Francies)
  4. Bolo Na (ft. Moor Mother, Joel Ross)
  5. Saaqi (ft. Vijay Iyer)
  6. Last Night (Reprise) (ft. Cautious Clay, Kaki King, Maeve Gilchrist)
  7. Raat Ki Rani
  8. Whiskey
  9. Zameen (ft. Chocolate Genius, Inc.)
JamBase Collections