Paul McCartney: Live Kisses DVD, Blu-ray, Digital Video


November 13 will see the release of Live Kisses – a stunning 13-song film, directed by Jonas Akerlund, that captures the magic of an extraordinary evening in February of this year. In the intimate surroundings of Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, where Paul McCartney recorded much of his Kisses On The Bottom album, he was reunited with the all-star musicians who joined him on the record to bring the songs to life for a once in a lifetime performance.

Streamed live to the world online, Live Kisses marked the launch of Paul’s Kisses On The Bottom album. The film tells the story of how, with the help of Grammy Award-winning producer Tommy LiPuma, Diana Krall and her band, Paul created a critically acclaimed album, which featured guest appearances from Eric Clapton and Stevie Wonder. The record represents a deeply personal journey through classic American compositions that a young Paul first heard his father perform on piano at home.

On the night the all-star line up were reunited to include musical director Diana Krall (piano), John Clayton (bass), Karriem Riggins (drums), John Pizzarelli (guitar), Anthony Wilson (guitar), Mike Mainieri (vibraphone) and conductor Alan Broadbent. Tommy LiPuma and Al Schmitt resumed their roles in the studio and special guest musicians on the evening included Abe Laboriel Jr. (from Paul’s touring band) on backing vocals and Eagles guitarist Joe Walsh. Walsh performed the “My Valentine” guitar solo originally recorded by Eric Clapton on the studio album.

Bonus Live Kisses material includes six versions of the “My Valentine” music video, directed by Paul and starring Johnny Depp and Natalie Portman as well as a “Making My Valentine” film. There are also two short films with behind the scenes footage filmed at the Mary McCartney album photoshoot for Kisses On The Bottom. The final extra is an interview with Paul and producer Tommy LiPuma talking about the story of the album, its conception and creation. Beautifully presented, Live Kisses comes with a 40-page hardback book containing photographs from the day itself, including the rehearsals.


  • 1) I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter
  • 2) Home (When Shadows Fall)
  • 3) It’s Only A Paper Moon
  • 4) The Glory Of Love
  • 5) More I Cannot Wish You
  • 6) We Three (My Echo, My Shadow And Me)
  • 7) Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
  • 8) My Valentine
  • 9) Always
  • 10) My Very Good Friend The Milkman
  • 11) Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 12) Get Yourself Another Fool
  • 13) My One And Only Love

    Paul McCartney Tour Dates :: Paul McCartney News


    [Published on: 9/25/12]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!


    Related Goods