The Dead Weather New Album: Sea of Cowards Out 05/11


The Dead Weather
The Dead Weather are back. The Nashville-based four-piece have announced plans for the release of their sophomore album Sea Of Cowards. The band exploded onto the music scene early last year with a stunning debut that combined the furious talents of members Alison Mosshart (vocals/ guitar), Jack White (vocals/drums), Jack Lawrence (bass/drums) and Dean Fertita (guitar/organ). Horehound was an exhilarating and electrifying introduction to the band, a gritty blues-driven dirge rock masterpiece that stormed onto the Billboard Top 200 at #6 upon its release in July of 2009. Now, less than a year later, the follow-up is ready to be unleashed.

The Dead Weather first declared their existence in March of last year with a blistering kick-off performance at the brand new Third Man Records HQ in downtown Nashville. Within weeks they were selling out shows around the country and debut single "Hang You From The Heavens" was making a glorious racket at radio. The following 12 months were a whirlwind of breathtaking performances, magazine covers and TV appearances but, staying true to his reputation as one of music's most energetic and prolific talents, Jack White didn't even wait for the Horehound world tour to end before he led the band back into the Third Man studios to produce Sea Of Cowards.

The new album is a robust and vigorous second act, filled with primal, bone quaking rock rhythms and the same stellar urban blues and throbbing sleaze as its predecessor; but this time The Dead Weather push their sound even further, brilliantly building upon their raw chemistry to create the most vital sounding album you'll hear all year.

Sea Of Cowards will be released on Third Man /Warner Bros. Records on May 11, 2010. The first single "Die By The Drop," is an agitated brain worm of a duet between Mosshart and White and will be available digitally March 30. Pre-orders for the 7" of the single can be made on March 30 via Third Man Records – backed by the track "Old Mary," it will be released on April 6. Also available on April 6 will be the Floria Sigismondi-directed video for "Die By The Drop," which is premiering in North America on iTunes.

The band have a floor shaking run of dates scheduled for April and May, including a stop at this year's Coachella Festival.

Track list for Sea Of Cowards:

  • Blue Blood Blues
  • Hustle And Cuss
  • The Difference Between Us
  • I'm Mad
  • Die By The Drop
  • I Can't Hear You
  • Gasoline
  • No Horse
  • Looking At The Invisible Man
  • Jawbreaker
  • Old Mary

    Some previous praise for The Dead Weather:

    " excellent album of sex sweat, bourbon breath, gun smoke and guitar sleaze...these are all top-notch songs...what a lovely way to burn." -Rolling Stone

    "There's no joke here — just mountains of chest-rattling primal rock designed to reassert the elemental power of the four-piece rock group. Mission accomplished." -Los Angeles Times

    The Dead Weather Tour Dates :: The Dead Weather News :: The Dead Weather Concert Reviews


    [Published on: 3/27/10]

    Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

    You'll receive

    show alerts

    when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

    free tickets

    , gain the ability to

    share your personalized live music calendar

    and much more. Join JamBase!



    To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »