Kicksville: The Singles – Season 1

By: Dennis Cook

Combining the cerebral clang of large group Zappa with something much more electro-chic, Kicksville pack subtle wallop on this collection culled from a 13-week digital release series that mixes prickly, appealing originals with covers of The Police ("Invisible Sun," "Walking In Your Footsteps"), Zeppelin ("Poor Tom") and Talking Heads ("Once In A Lifetime"). An undulating current powers the lot, and this highly clever, highly musical outfit understands seduction better than most. Few cuts grab you instantly but, given a few minutes to develop, the blips, beats and cool singing should bring you along. The only missteps are the blues numbers ("Mojo Workin'," "Backdoor Man"), which feel forced and out of place amongst their shiny companions. Modernity suits Kicksville, and they've definitely got a way of turning even well tread material into something of their own. If they play to their strengths there's probably some real legs to this band.

Season 2 began on 4/20.

JamBase | Grooving Nicely
Go See Live Music!

[Published on: 4/24/09]

Take full advantage of all JamBase has to offer by signing up for an account!

You'll receive

show alerts

when your favorite artists announce shows, be eligible to enter contests for

free tickets

, gain the ability to

share your personalized live music calendar

and much more. Join JamBase!



To read comments and participate in this story, please visit the Articles forum »