Zappa Records Releases FZ’s Understanding America


The Zappa Family Trust is excited to announce a new 2-CD set released via iTunes and Universal Music Enterprises Tuesday, October 30. Understanding America is one of only three compilation albums produced and titled by FZ himself. (Ironically, Mothermania is another and is also on schedule for October 30.) The project comprises by less than a quarter titles available in current release, other prior versions and many items including the title, “Porn Wars Deluxe,” a 25-minute work, unique to this release.

A message from the Utility Muffin Research Kitchen (Frank Zappa’s proximate Laurel Canyon studio) proclaims: “This work is about love, peace, justice and the American way. It’s about compassion and responsibility. It’s about ethics and honor. It’s about time and it is about money. And bogus pomp and circumstance. Predictions and politics. It is the low-down on high altitudes. Check out the menu for yourself and you will see that the main ingredients, each in their own persuasion and marinating well into the next century, have been carefully skewered and roasted to the peak of perfection by the Master chef, author of one of the all time great cook books, Understanding America. Oh, and finally, it is about Music. Put some in your cauldron and please, don’t forget to vote!”

“From the uniquely specialized repertoire of an artist who never failed to understand that he was working for a highly specialized audience, this is for you.”


  • 1. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
  • 2. Plastic People
  • 3. Mom & Dad
  • 4. It Can’t Happen Here
  • 5. Who Are The Brain Police?
  • 6. Who Needs The Peace Corps?
  • 7. Brown Shoes Don’t Make It
  • 8. Concentration Moon
  • 9. Trouble Every Day
  • 10. You’re Probably Wondering Why I’m Here
  • 11. We’re Turning Again
  • 12. Road Ladies
  • 13. What Kind Of Girl Do You Think We Are
  • 14. Camarillo Brillo
  • 15. Find Her Finer
  • 16. Dinah-Moe Humm
  • 17. Disco Boy
  • 18. 200 Years Old

    DISC 2

  • 1. I’m The Slime
  • 2. Be In My Video
  • 3. I Don’t Even Care
  • 4. Can’t Afford No Shoes
  • 5. Heavenly Bank Account
  • 6. Cocaine Decisions
  • 7. Dumb All Over
  • 8. Promiscuous
  • 9. Thing-Fish Intro
  • 10. The Central Scrutinizer
  • 11. Porn Wars Deluxe
  • 12. Tinseltown Rebellion
  • 13. Jesus Thinks You’re A Jerk