Yonder Mountain String Band Covers King Harvest On New Single


On June 23 Frog Pad Records/Thirty Tigers will release Love. Ain’t Love, a new 13-track Yonder Mountain String Band studio album. The Colorado-based group has shared another single from the record, a cover of a song originally performed by King Harvest.

Produced by YMSB and regular collaborator John McVey, Love. Ain’t Love follows-up the five-piece’s last studio effort, 2015’s Black Sheep. Tracked primarily in their home state at Coupe Studios in Boulder, the album mixes originals and covers, including the King Harvest tune “Dancing In The Moonlight,” sung by mandolin player Jacob Jolliff.

“We wanted to showcase Jake’s vocals on this album,” said guitarist Adam Aijala in a statement. “We’ve been playing ‘Dancing In The Moonlight’ in our live shows and whenever we play it people just light up. We always enjoy playing it, the harmonies are really good and Jake sings the hell out of it so we thought, why not put it on the record?”

Premiered by Consequence Of Sound, stream YMSB covering “Dancing In The Moonlight” below:


Love. Ain’t Love Tracklist

  1. Alison
  2. Fall Outta Line
  3. Bad Taste
  4. Take A Chance On Me
  5. Chasing My Tail
  6. Used To It
  7. Eat In Go Deaf (Eat Out Go Broke)
  8. Dancing In The Moonlight
  9. On Your Dime
  10. Kobe The Dog
  11. Last Of The Railroad Men
  12. Up For Brinkley’s
  13. Groovin’ Away