Yonder Mountain String Band Announces New Album


Colorado jamgrass act Yonder Mountain String Band will issue their first new studio album in two years, Love. Ain’t Love, on June 23. The 13-track effort includes a mix of originals and covers and was recorded with longtime collaborator John McVey mostly at Coupe Studios in Boulder.

“There are no limits to what we do” said guitarist Adam Aijala in a statement. “We’ll try anything, if it feels good, we’ll try it again.” Bassist Ben Kaufmann added, “When we were first starting, our creativity was rooted in rebelliousness. Now, there’s a greater conscious awareness and attention to detail that we’re bringing to our writing and recording. Our nature and instincts remain progressive. We’re just doing it in a way that’s sharper, more musical, and way more satisfying.”

Four songs from Live. Ain’t Love will be issued over the coming weeks as instant-gratification pre-order incentives ahead of the LP’s release on June 23. The album will be available for pre-order starting on Friday, April 28 including deluxe bundles featuring signed vinyl, exclusive merchandise and more.

Watch the official video for Love. Ain’t Love opening track “Alison”:

Love. Ain’t Love Tracklist

  • 1. Alison
  • 2. Fall Outta Line
  • 3. Bad Taste
  • 4. Take A Chance On Me
  • 5. Chasing My Tail
  • 6. Used To It
  • 7. Eat In Go Deaf (Eat Out Go Broke)
  • 8. Dancing In The Moonlight
  • 9. On Your Dime
  • 10. Kobe The Dog
  • 11. Last Of The Railroad Men
  • 12. Up For Brinkley’s
  • 13. Groovin’ Away