Wilco Announces New Album ‘Ode To Joy’ & Shares Single


Wilco will release their 11th studio album, Ode To Joy, on October 4 via the band’s dBpm Records imprint. The group previewed the follow-up to 2016’s Schmilco by unveiling the lead single “Love Is Everywhere (Beware).”

The members of Wilco gathered at the band’s famed The Loft facility in Chicago to work on the 11 new songs found within Ode To Joy. Prolific frontman Jeff Tweedy, who recently released two solo studio albums and a memoir, and drummer Glenn Kotche are described as “the launching pad from which most of the songs on Ode To Joy materialized,” in a press release. Tweedy feels the LP is made up of, “really big, big folk songs, these monolithic, brutal structures that these delicate feelings are hung on.”

Read a statement from Tweedy about “Love Is Everywhere (Beware)”:

“There MUST be more love than hate. Right?! I’m not always positive we can be so sure. In any case, I’m starting to feel like being confident in that equation isn’t always the best motivation for me to be my best self – it can kind of let me off the hook a little bit when I think I should be striving to contribute more love outside of my comfortable sphere of family and friends.

“So… I guess the song is sort of a warning to myself that YES, Love IS EVERYWHERE, but also BEWARE! I can’t let that feeling absolve me of my duty to create more.”

Listen to “Love Is Everywhere (Beware)” below:

Wilco will support the LP with an extensive fall tour.

Ode To Joy Tracklist

  1. Bright Leaves
  2. Before Us
  3. One and a Half Stars
  4. Quiet Amplifier
  5. Everyone Hides
  6. White Wooden Cross
  7. Citizens
  8. We Were Lucky
  9. Love Is Everywhere (Beware)
  10. Hold Me Anyway
  11. An Empty Corner

Tour Dates for Wilco