Widespread Panic & Umphrey’s McGee Collaborate On This Date In 2013

Watch members of Umphrey's McGee and Widespread Panic share the stage.

By Andy Kahn Oct 5, 2022 6:00 am PDT

Widespread Panic and Umphrey’s McGee held the second of two shows together at the Family Circle Stadium in Charleston, South Carolina on this date in 2013. The evening produced a number of collaborations between the members of UM and WSP.

The night began with an opening set by Umphrey’s McGee that featured the first sit-in of the show. Panic frontman John Bell emerged to add guitar and vocals to a rendition of “Ain’t No Sunshine.” The collab was a reprisal of Bell’s sit-in with Umphrey’s on the Bill Withers’ classic at the 2010 Christmas Jam hosted by Warren Haynes in Asheville, North Carolina.

Widespread Panic’s headlining second set on October 5, 2013 saw a trio of UM members return to the Family Circle Stadium stage. Guitarist Jake Cinninger and keyboardist Joel Cummins came out to augment WSP on Funkadelic’s “Maggot Brain.” Percussionist Andy Farag then joined his Umphrey’s McGee band mates on a cover of Funkadelic’s “Red Hot Mama.” Farag stuck around to join drummer Todd Nance and percussionist Sunny Ortiz for the subsequent “Drums” sequence.

Relive the Widespread Umphrey’s Panic McGee show from this date in 2013 via the videos presented below:

Umphrey’s McGee (See 363 videos)
Umphrey’s McGee (See 784 videos) and John Bell (See 8 videos)

Amber Combs
Widespread Panic (See 525 videos) , Joel Cummins (See 35 videos) and Jake Cinninger (See 30 videos)

TourGigs (See 67 videos)
Widespread Panic (See 525 videos) , Andy Farag (See 3 videos) , Jake Cinninger (See 30 videos) and Joel Cummins (See 35 videos)

Loading tour dates

Loading tour dates


Umphrey’s McGee (via All Things Umphrey’s)

One Set: Slacker, Conduit, The Linear > 1348[1], Booth Love[2], Ain’t No Sunshine[3], Puppet String


  • [1] with A Love Supreme (John Coltrane) and Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’ (Michael Jackson) jams
  • [2] with Jake on keys; with There’s No Crying In Mexico tease
  • [3] with John Bell on guitar and vocals

Widespread Panic (via PanicStream)

Set One: All Time Low, Saint Ex, Chilly Water, Wondering, It Ain’t No Use > Pilgrims, Impossible > Pleas > Mr Soul

Set Two: Tall Boy > Machine > Barstools & Dreamers^, Maggot Brain* > Red Hot Mama** > Drums*** > Airplane > Protein Drink / Sewing Machine, Me and the Devil Blues, Henry Parsons Died

Encore: End of the Show, Ain’t Life Grand


  • ^ w/ Satisfied rap
  • * w/ spoken word intro (DAS); Jake Cinninger-guitar; Joel Cummins-Keyboards (Umphrey’s McGee)
  • ** w/ Jake Cinninger-guitar; Joel Cummins-Keyboards; Andy Farag-percussion
  • *** w/ Andy Farag-percussion

[Originally Published: October 5, 2017]

JamBase Collections