Watchhouse Announces Self-Titled New Album & Shares Single

By Nate Todd May 20, 2021 2:40 pm PDT

Watchhouse (formerly Mandolin Orange) announced a new self-titled album due out August 13 on Tiptoe Tiger Music / Thirty Tigers. The duo of Andrew Marlin and Emily Frantz also shared the video for the single, “New Star,” directed by Amelia Meath of Sylvan Esso

Renowned producer and multi-instrumentalist Josh Kaufman (The National, Bonny Light Horseman) co-produced Watchhouse with Marlin. Kaufman, Frantz and Marlin along with drummer Joe Westerlund, guitarist Josh Oliver and bassist Clint Mullican retreated to Smith Mountain Lake in the Appalachians of Virginia to record the album.

Watchhouse, as the name change suggests, is a reinvention,” a press release for the album noted. “These nine songs are both personal and political, touching upon Marlin and Frantz’s newfound parenthood as well as climate change and caustic online interactions as they parse out how to live a kinder, more decent life on their own terms. Watchhouse is audacious, spectral music that wrestles with and finds magic in the relationships we build with our families, our society, our planet, and ourselves.”

“We’re different people than when we started this band,” Marlin said of the reinvention. “We’re setting new intentions, taking control of this thing again.”

Watchhouse previously released the single and video for album track “Better Life” and now follow with the visual for “New Star,” which is “a song about familial solidarity and self-sacrifice that is plain-spoken but vital.”

Watch the Amelia Meath-directed video for “New Star” below:

Watchhouse Tracklist

  1. Wondrous Love
  2. Better Way
  3. Belly of the Beast
  4. New Star
  5. Upside Down
  6. Lonely Love Affair
  7. Coming Down From Green Mountain
  8. Beautiful Flowers
  9. Nightbird
JamBase Collections