Vida Blue Shares ‘Analog Delay’ Single From New Album ‘Crossing Lines’

By Scott Bernstein Jul 23, 2019 5:56 am PDT

Update: The album, which Page produced, is available for pre-order here. A listing for the LP reveals Page, Oteil and Russell are joined in the band by new member Adam Zimmon (Ziggy Marley, Shakira), who worked with Page in the project as a member of Spam Allstars and was part of McConnell’s 2007 touring band.

Phish keyboardist Page McConnell is bringing back his Vida Blue project. An eight-track album entitled Crossing Lines is due on September 20 via McConnell’s Keyed Records imprint and the LP’s first single, “Analog Delay” is out now.

McConnell formed Vida Blue with bassist Oteil Burbridge and drummer Russell Batiste in 2001. The trio first performed live on December 31, 2001 at Roseland Ballroom in New York City and went on to release their self-titled debut album on June 25, 2002. Page, Oteil and Russell supported the LP with two tours in 2002 and another in 2003. Then, McConnell expanded the lineup with the addition of Miami’s Spam Allstars for a 2003 studio album, The Illustrated Band and a tour the following year.

On January 29, 2018 the Spam Allstars started sharing a series of Instagram posts showing the expanded version of Vida Blue recording the follow-up to The Illustrated Band at Miami’s famed The Hit Factory Criteria Miami. Little about the album has been heard since with a handful of exceptions. McConnell performed with Batiste and other musicians in New Orleans on June 22, 2018 when Batiste confirmed a new Vida Blue album was in the works. A week earlier, Oteil took part in an Ask Me Anything session on Reddit and discussed Vida Blue when asked about the status of the band:

“We just recently went into Criteria Studio in Miami. It was really great to get the old band back together, complete with Adam Zimmon and the Spam Allstars,” Oteil responded. “I remember one time we were out on the road together and Page said to me ‘Oteil, you realize this is only the second band I’ve been in in my entire life?’ It really blew my mind to think of how many bands I had played in before I had any kind of success career-wise and Page shot straight to the top in the first band he ever joined,” Burbridge shared about the Phish keyboardist. “It still blows my mind. We had an amazing time playing in the studio. I’m not sure when Page plans on putting the recording out or if there are any plans to tour, but I’m sure we’ll all find out something soon!”

Finally, Oteil’s appearance on The JamBase Podcast earlier this year included a discussion of Vida Blue. “We were all going through really hard stuff [during 2001 – 2004] and I didn’t realize it till we did this last record and Page reminded me. So the reunion was really super cool, because we’re all in a different place now. We’ve gotten through all that stuff.” Burbridge noted in listening to the playbacks at the studio, “You could feel it. It’s coming off the tape. The difference in the vibe … the happiness … you could tell guys have more peace of mind and we’re all in such a good place right now.” When asked about touring, he said talks were in the works to “do a few dates” surrounding the release of the album. “I’m really looking forward to that,” Oteil added.

As for now few details of Crossing Lines have been confirmed. Listen to “Analog Delay” below:

Stay tuned for more news on the return of Vida Blue.

Crossling Lines Tracklist

  1. Analog Delay
  2. Checking Out
  3. Where Did It Go
  4. Phaidon
  5. Weepa
  6. Maybe
  7. Real Underground Soul Sound
  8. If I Told You
  9. Tour Dates for Vida Blue

JamBase Collections