Vibes | Panic, moe., UM, Disco Biscuits With Rhythm Devils

By Scott Bernstein Mar 15, 2014 7:00 pm PDT

Tonight, the lineup for this year’s Gathering Of The Vibes was announced on stage at the Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, NY during a show featuring Kung Fu and Deep Banana Blackout. Widespread Panic, John Fogerty, moe. and Umphrey’s McGee will headline this year’s festival.

The big surprise can be found in the other headliner slot as the Disco Biscuits will be joined by The Grateful Dead’s Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart, aka “The Rhythm Devils,” on drums. The Disco Biscuits were regulars at GOTV in 1998-2001, missing only the 2000 installment, but have not been back since. Earlier this week the Biscuits revealed they were putting their own Camp Bisco festival on hiatus this summer. Neither Hart or Kreutzmann has ever performed with the jamtronica pioneers. Each drummer, with their respective bands, last played Gathering Of The Vibes in 2012. Regardless of whether the Biscuits play any Dead tunes, there should be plenty of Grateful Dead music at the Vibes with Dark Star Orchestra, Joe Russo’s Almost Dead and Keller Williams’ Grateful Grass all scheduled to perform at this year’s event. Other acts towards the top of the lineup include Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Ziggy Marley and Maceo Parker.

Gathering Of The Vibes 2014 takes place at Seaside Park in Bridgeport, CT from July 31 -August 3. The festival was started in 1996 under the moniker “Deadhead Heaven” and moved to its current name the following year. Gathering Of The Vibes returns this year for its 19th installment. Seaside Park first hosted Vibes in 1999 and 2000. After being held elsewhere for a number of years, the Bridgeport venue has been the home of the event since 2007. Tickets and passes for Gathering Of The Vibes are on sale now via the festival’s website. More acts will be announced soon. 

Here’s the initial lineup for Gathering Of The Vibes 2014:

Widespread Panic, John Fogerty, moe., Disco Biscuits featuring Bill Kreutzmann and Mickey Hart, Umphrey’s McGee, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, Slightly Stoopid, Maceo Parker, Ziggy Marley, Rodrigo Y Gabriela, Dark Star Orchestra, Joe Russo’s Almost Dead, Ryan Montbleau & Friends, Keller Williams Grateful Grass featuring Jeff Austin and Reed Mathis, Leftover Salmon featuring Bill Payne, Rusted Root, American Babies, Dumpstaphunk, Donna The Buffalo, Strangefolk, Kung Fu, Twiddle, McLovins, Nakho and Medicine For The People, White Denim, Langhorne Slim & The Law, Love Cannon, The Main Squeeze, Bronze Radio Return, Band Together, Andy The Music Man, School Of Rock Allstars, Wavy Gravy (MC)

Late Night: EOTO, Deep Banana Blackout, Dopapod, Digital Tape Machine

JamBase Collections