Van Morrison Announces New Album ‘The Prophet Speaks’ & Shares Single


Legendary performer Van Morrison will issue a new studio album entitled The Prophet Speaks via Caroline International on December 7. Morrison’s 40th studio album features a mix of classics written by John Lee Hooker, Sam Cooke and others along with six new originals.

“It was important for me to get back to recording new music as well as doing some of the blues material that has inspired me from the beginning. Writing songs and making music is what I do, and working with great musicians makes it all the more enjoyable,” Morrison said in a statement. The Northern Ireland native is joined by multi-instrumentalist Joey DeFrancesco and his band of guitarist Dan Wilson, drummer Michael Ode and tenor saxophonist Troy Roberts on The Prophet Speaks. Listen to the title track from the 14-track LP below:

The Prophet Speaks Tracklist

  1. Gonna Send You Back To Where I Got You From (Eddie “Cleanhead” Vinson, Leona Blackman)
  2. Dimples (John Lee Hooker, James Bracken)
  3. Got to Go Where The Love Is (Van Morrison)
  4. Laughin’ and Clownin’ (Sam Cooke)
  5. 5 am Greenwich Mean Time (Van Morrison)
  6. Gotta Get You Off My Mind (Solomon Burke, Delores Burke, Josephine Burke Moore)
  7. Teardrops (J.D. Harris)
  8. I Love The Life I Live (Willie Dixon)
  9. Worried Blues / Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (J.D. Harris)
  10. Ain’t Gonna Moan No More (Van Morrison)
  11. Love Is A Five Letter Word (Gene Barge)
  12. Love Is Hard Work (Van Morrison)
  13. Spirit Will Provide (Van Morrison)
  14. The Prophet Speaks (Van Morrison)