Van Morrison Details New Double Album ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ & Shares Title Track

By Scott Bernstein Mar 3, 2021 9:04 am PST

Famed musician Van Morrison confirmed the upcoming release of new double album Latest Record Project: Volume 1 via Exile/BMG on May 7. Morrison previewed the 28-track set by unveiling its title track.

Morrison wrote and recorded the bulk of his 42nd record while isolated during the pandemic. Van has been vocal in his criticism of restrictions put on musicians by government officials in order to protect citizens from COVID-19. Morrison distributed funds to struggling musicians in his native Northern Ireland via two phases of the Van Morrison Rhythm And Blues Foundation Lockdown Financial Hardship Fund.

“I’m getting away from the perceived same songs, same albums all the time,” Morrison said regarding Latest Record Project: Volume 1 “This guy’s done 500 songs, maybe more, so hello? Why do you keep promoting the same 10? I’m trying to get out of the box.”

The double album features “Dead Beat Saturday Night,” a song in which he expresses his feelings about the lockdown that includes the lyric “No life, no gigs, no choice, no voice.” He also addresses the evolution of social media on “Why Are You On Facebook?” Additionally,Latest Record Project: Volume 1 contains a track with the controversial title “They Own The Media.”

Check out the “Latest Record Project” lyric video below:

Latest Record Project: Volume 1 Tracklist

Disc One

  1. Latest Record Project
  2. Where Have All the Rebels Gone?
  3. Psychoanalysts’ Ball
  4. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
  5. Tried to Do the Right Thing
  6. The Long Con
  7. Thank God for the Blues
  8. Big Lie
  9. A Few Bars Early
  10. It Hurts Me Too
  11. Only a Song
  12. Diabolic Pressure
  13. Deadbeat Saturday Night
  14. Blue Funk

Disc Two

  1. Double Agent
  2. Double Bind
  3. Love Should Come With A Warning
  4. Breaking The Spell
  5. Up County Down
  6. Duper’s Delight
  7. My Time After a While
  8. He’s Not the Kingpin
  9. Mistaken Identity
  10. Stop Bitching, Do Something
  11. Western Man
  12. They Own the Media
  13. Why Are You on Facebook?
  14. Jealousy
JamBase Collections