Umphrey’s McGee Welcomes Cody Dickinson At New Year’s Run Opener In Denver


Umphrey’s McGee opened their three-show New Year’s Run at The Fillmore Auditorium in Denver on Friday night. The band was joined by North Mississippi Allstars drummer Cody Dickinson for a song in the first set and the encore featured lighting director Jefferson Waful employing lasers.

Umphrey’s McGee utilized “Bathing Digits” as their walk-on starter and then launched into the classic instrumental rarity “Padgett’s Profile,” which later landed on “Walletsworth.” A well-jammed “Sociable Jimmy” then unfolded in front of The Fillmore audience, followed by another instrumental gem “The Fussy Dutchman.”

Keyboardist Joel Cummins steered a jam on “Carol Of The Bells” within the subsequent “The Linear.” Dickinson then emerged to replace Kris Myers on the rarely performed “Susanah.” A rocking “Bridgeless” closed out the first set.

“JaJunk” was left unfinished after being selected to start set two. It segued into “Night Nurse” which then transitioned into guitarist Jake Cinninger fronting the sextet on “Mail Package.” The rest of the set was rounded out by a sequence bringing together “Resolution,” “Yoga Pants,” “Syncopated Strangers” and “Draconian.” Guitarist Brendan Bayliss led a spirited take on Pink Floyd’s “Comfortably Numb” as Waful sprayed The Fillmore with lasers during the evening’s encore.

UM continues their NYE Run tonight in Denver. A webcast is available via TourGigs.

[Comfortably Numb | Captured by sethdvaughan]

Setlist (via The Bort)

Set One: Bathing Digits > Padgett’s Profile > Walletsworth, Sociable Jimmy > The Fussy Dutchman > The Linear [1], Susanah [2], Bridgeless

Set Two: JaJunk [3] > Night Nurse -> Mail Package, Resolution > Yoga Pants > Syncopated Strangers > Draconian

Encore: Comfortably Numb


  • [1] Carol of the Bells teases
  • [2] with Cody Dickinson of North Mississippi Allstars replacing Kris on drums
  • [3] unfinished

Tour Dates for
Umphrey’s McGee