U2 Announces & Releases New Album For Free

While Irish rockers U2 played coy and denied reports they would perform at today’s Apple live event announcing the new iPhone, the iWatch and more; they did wind up playing at the event. Furthermore, U2 both announced and released a new album titled Songs Of Innocence.

The album, U2’s first in five years, will be distributed free immediately to anyone with iTunes. U2 performed the track “The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)” at today’s Apple event. Danger Mouse, Flood, Paul Epworth and Ryan Tedder are among the producers who worked with U2 on the new album. Bono discussed Songs Of Innocence with Rolling Stone in a just-published interview. “With this, we wanted to wait until we had one that was as good as our very best work,” Bono told the magazine. “The question is now, how do we get it to as many people as possible, because that’s what our band is all about. I think you can help us.”

“We wanted to make a very personal album. Let’s try to figure out why we wanted to be in a band, the relationships around the band, our friendships, our lovers, our family. The whole album is first journeys — first journeys geographically, spiritually, sexually. And that’s hard. But we went there,” Bono explained to Rolling Stone.

Here’s the tracklist for the new LP:

1. The Miracle (of Joey Ramone) -Produced by Danger Mouse, Paul Epworth and Ryan Tedder
2. Every Breaking Wave -Produced by Danger Mouse and Ryan Tedder
3. California (There Is No End To Love) -Produced by Declan Gaffney, Paul Epworth and Danger Mouse
4. Song For Someone -Produced by Ryan Tedder and Flood
5. Iris (Hold Me Close) -Produced by Paul Epworth and Ryan Tedder
6. Volcano -Produced by Declan Gaffney
7. Raised By Wolves -Produced by Declan Gaffney and Danger Mouse
8. Cedarwood Road -Produced by Danger Mouse and Paul Epworth
9. Sleep Like A Baby Tonight -Produced by Danger Mouse
10. This Is Where You Can Reach Me -Produced by Danger Mouse
11. The Troubles -Produced by Danger Mouse