Ty Segall Announces ‘Whirlybird’ Soundtrack & Shares Single

Watch the video for "Story Of The Century" from Segall's first full-on feature film score.

By Scott Bernstein Jan 25, 2022 12:37 pm PST

Ty Segall composed new music for Whirlybird (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), an album set for digital release through Drag City Records on February 22 with vinyl forthcoming. Segall previewed the score to director Matt Yoka’s 2020 documentary by unveiling the album’s “Story Of The Century.”

Currently available for streaming on MUBI, Whirlybird digs into the tale of Los Angeles-based journalists Zoey Tur and then-wife Marika Gerrard, who pioneered helicopter news reporting in the 1980s and ’90s. Tur and Gerrard documented from the air such historic moments as the 1992 Rodney King riots and the O.J. Simpson Bronco police chase. Whirlybird incorporates interviews and one-of-a-kind archival footage to look into both Tur and Gerrard’s work and marriage that crumbled.

Segall worked closely with Whirlybird director and fellow Southern California native Matt Yoka to prep his first full-on feature film score. The musician penned the arrangements and recruited Mikal Cronin to contribute sax and co-write the title track. Ty utilized various instruments to match the on-screen action, including guitars, Wurlitzer, synth, drum machine, percussion and drums.

Whirlybird (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) comes after Segall surprise-released his Harmonizer album last August. Watch the “Story Of The Century” video below:

Whirlybird (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Tracklist

  1. Whirlybird
  2. First Date
  3. Los Angeles News Service
  4. Getting The Story
  5. Sky Duo
  6. Lawrence Welk III
  7. First Pursuit
  8. 1992
  9. High
  10. News Junkies
  11. Story Of The Century
  12. Whirly Suite
  13. Last Flight

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections