Trey Anastasio Releases New Single ‘Sometime After Sunset’

Earlier this week Trey Anastasio announced the upcoming release of a new album and a tour in support of the LP. Paper Wheels is due on October 30 via Rubber Jungle Records/ATO Records and today Anastasio has shared the LP’s new single – “Sometime After Sunset.”

Take a listen to “Sometime After Sunset” which premiered on SiriusXM’s Jam On last night:

Paper Wheels is now available for pre-order at via Anastasio’s website and at Phish Dry-Goods. Here’s how the new record is described as well as info on various deluxe packages:

Produced by Anastasio and longtime collaborator Bryce Goggin, Paper Wheels was recorded last year at The Barn, the Phish founding guitarist’s Vermont farmhouse-turned-rehearsal space/recording studio. Anastasio and the members of Trey Anastasio Band (TAB) developed the material on stage while touring and at soundcheck on the tour leading up to the sessions, allowing them to track the album in just under a week. Taking a cue from the energetic immediacy of classic Stax Studio recording sessions, TAB worked fast and loose, playing together live in The Barn and wrapping up tracks after one or two takes. Written and co-written by Anastasio alongside frequent lyric partners Tom Marshall and Steve “The Dude of Life” Pollak, songs like the funk-driven “Bounce” and the elegiac “Invisible Knife” (written solely by Anastasio) are among the legendarily diverse artist’s most infectious and inventive, alive with creative vigor, robust musicianship, and true soul power (see the complete tracklisting below).

Paper Wheels features the classic TAB line up of drummer Russ Lawton, bassist Tony Markellis, and keyboardist Ray Paczkowski, augmented by a full horn section (including trombonist/vocalist Natalie Cressman, multi-instrumentalist James Casey, and longtime TAB trumpeter/vocalist Jennifer Hartswick). The album was mixed by 8x Grammy Award-winning sound engineer Elliot Scheiner (Van Morrison, Steely Dan, Derek & The Dominos).

Paper Wheels will be offered as a deluxe limited edition that will include 180 gram 45 RPM 2x LP splatter vinyl and a die cut gatefold package with six unique sleeves. Only 4,000 of these special packages will be manufactured. A CD format and t-shirt bundles are also available for pre-order.

Paper Wheels Tracklist:

  1. Sometime After Sunset
  2. The Song
  3. Never
  4. In Rounds
  5. Flying Machines
  6. Invisible Knife
  7. Lever Boy
  8. Bounce
  9. Liquid Time
  10. Paper Wheels
  11. Speak to Me
  12. Cartwheels

TAB’s Fall Tour first stops at Kings Theatre in Brooklyn, New York for two nights on October 16 and 17 before heading west to the aforementioned Brooklyn Bowl shows in Vegas over Halloween. A run along the West Coast starts November 1 in San Diego and continues with gigs in Los Angeles, Oakland (two nights), Portland, Seattle and Salt Lake City before culminating with a two-night stand at The Fillmore Auditorium in Denver on November 13 and 14.

Tickets for all TAB shows will be available through a real time pre-sale beginning Thursday, August 27 at 12 p.m. ET and ending Wednesday, September 2 at 5:00 p.m. ET via this link. Tickets will go on sale to the general public beginning Thursday, September 3. More information can be found at

Related Articles