Tool Kicks Off 2022 Tour In Eugene

The band returned to the stage after 670 days and had a few setlist surprises in store.

By Scott Bernstein Jan 11, 2022 7:41 am PST

Tool began an extensive 2022 tour on Monday night in Eugene, Oregon. The band fit three songs they hadn’t performed in years into the setlist for last night’s show at the Matthew Knight Arena.

Monday’s concert was the first Tool show since March 11, 2020. Maynard James Keenan and his bandmates were supposed to play the Matthew Knight Arena on March 12, 2020 but the concert and the rest of the group’s 2020 tour were canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. “Let’s finish what we started. Shall we?” stated Keenan when the 2022 tour was announced.

Tool opened the 13-song performance with “Fear Inoculum,” the title track from their 2019 studio album. Fear Inoculum was also represented last night by “Pneuma,” “Descending,” “Chocolate Chip Trip” and “Invincible.” The opener was followed by an extended “Opiate” and 10,000 Days standout “The Pot.”

Last night’s show rolled on with Tool’s first “Pushit” since 2014 as per Setlist.FM. The band stuck to the album version found on 1996’s Ænima. James and company dusted off “Right In Two” and “Hooker With A Penis” towards the end of their main set. The former was featured on 10,000 Days and last played in 2011 while the latter comes from Ænima and hadn’t been performed by Tool live since 2014.

Tool capped the evening with a four-song encore. “Chocolate Chip Trip” was followed by “Eon Blue Apocalypse” before Tool delivered a show-closing pairing of “The Patient” and “Invincible.” The tour continues tonight in Tacoma, Washington.

Watch fan-shot video footage of “Right In Two” and “Invincible” from last night’s show below:

Dive Club
Tool (See 9 videos)

Justin Hawks
Tool (See 9 videos)


Tool at Matthew Knight Arena

  • Fear Inoculum
  • Opiate  
  • The Pot
  • Pushit  
  • Pneuma
  • The Grudge
  • Right in Two  
  • Hooker With a Penis  
  • Descending
  • Chocolate Chip Trip
  • Eon Blue Apocalypse
  • The Patient
  • Invincible

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections