Tinariwen Announces New Album ‘Amadjar’ & Shares Single


Tinariwen will release a new guest-filled album entitled Amadjar on September 6 through ANTI- Records. The album includes the lead single “Taqkal Tarha” featuring Micah Nelson.

In October 2018, following Tinariwen’s appearance at the Taragalte Festival in the Moroccan Sahara, the group of Tuareg musicians traveled through southern Morocco, Western Sahara and along the Atlantic coast en route to Nouakchott, Mauritania. Rehearsals took place each night during the journey that lasted nearly two weeks.

Another two weeks were spent in a camp in the desert near Nouakchott with a French production team utilizing a van converted into a recording studio. Mauritanian vocalist Noura Mint Seymali and her husband, guitarist Jeiche Ould Chigaly, accompanied the band during the sessions, which were recorded in a “large tent in a few live takes, without headphones or effects.” Tinariwen then employed Western musicians to augment the recordings, with Nelson providing additional mandolin and charango, Warren Ellis of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds adding violin and Stephen O’Malley of Sunn O))), Cass McCombs and Rodolphe Burger supplying guitar parts across the album’s 13 tracks.

Stream “Taqkal Tarha” featuring Micah Nelson below:

Amadjar Tracklist

  1. Tenere Maloulat (feat. Warren Ellis)
  2. Zawal (feat. Warren Ellis, Noura Mint Seymali, Jeiche Ould Chighaly)
  3. Amalouna (feat. Noura Mint Seymali, Stephen O’Malley)
  4. Taqkal Tarha (feat. Micah Nelson)
  5. Anina
  6. Madjam Mahilkamen
  7. Takount (feat. Noura Mint Seymali)
  8. Iklam Dglour (feat. Warren Ellis, Rodolphe Burger)
  9. Kel Tinawen (feat. Cass McCombs)
  10. Itous Ohar (feat. Cass McCombs)
  11. Mhadjar Yassouf Idjan (feat. Warren Ellis)
  12. Wartilla (feat. Warren Ellis, Stephen O’Malley)
  13. Lalla

Tour Dates for