Thundercat Announces New Album ‘It Is What It Is’ & Shares Single


Thundercat announced a new album, It Is What It Is, due out on April 3 via Brainfeeder Records. The renowned bassist, otherwise known as Stephen Lee Bruner, also released the album’s lead single, “Black Quails” featuring Steve Lacy of The Internet and funk legend Steve Arrington.

Bruner tapped Flying Lotus to help produce the new record, the follow up to his critically acclaimed 2017 album Drunk, which also sees contributions from Ty Dolla $ign, Childish Gambino, Lil B, Kamasi Washington, BADBADNOTGOOD, Louis Cole, and Zack Fox.

“It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand,” Bruner said of the album. “Some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

Thundercat also spoke about working with one of his biggest influences in Steve Arrington, who he describes as “the physical incarnate of the Ohio Players in one person – he genuinely is a funky ass dude.” Bruner continued: “The tone of the bass, the way his stuff feels and moves, it resonated through my whole body.” And added: “What it feels like to be in this position right now… the weird ins and outs, we’re talking about those feelings… Part of me knew this [track] was where Steve [Arrington] left us.” Stream “Black Quails” below:


It Is What It Is Tracklist:

  1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
  2. Innerstellar Love
  3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
  4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
  5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
  6. How Sway
  7. Funny Thing
  8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
  9. Dragonball Durag
  10. How I Feel
  11. King Of The Hill
  12. Unrequited Love
  13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
  14. Existential Dread
  15. It Is What It Is