The Who & Roger Waters Close Out Desert Trip Weekend One


Yesterday the first weekend of the first Desert Trip music festival came to an end with performances by legendary British rockers The Who and Roger Waters. Each of the acts on Sunday delivered performances featuring career-spanning, hits-filled setlists at the inaugural event held at Empire Polo Club in Indio, California that also saw appearances by Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones, Neil Young and Paul McCartney.

Sunday’s action at the home of Coachella got underway with an appearance by The Who. While only frontman Roger Daltrey and guitarist Pete Townshend remain from the group’s classic lineup, the pair of veteran performers staged an over two-hour set loaded with favorites such as “My Generation,” “Behind Blue Eyes,” “Join Together,” “Pinball Wizard,” “Baba O’Riley” and “Won’t Get Fooled Again.”

Prior to playing “I Can See for Miles,” Townshend reportedly told the large crowd the classic hit came “such a long fucking time ago – we were 1967’s version of Adele or Lady Gaga or Rihanna or Bieber,” He later also said “Roger and I are so glad to be out here at our age, and I couldn’t do it without Roger.”

Founding Pink Floyd member Roger Waters structured his setlist similarly to the three shows he played recently in Mexico City, pulling from classic LPs such as Dark Side Of The Moon, Wish You Were Here, Meddle and Animals. With the U.S. Presidential debate taking place, Waters interjected political imagery into his performance, taking aim at Republican candidate Donald Trump during “Pigs (Three Different Ones)” and flying the band’s iconic inflatable pig emblazoned with an image of the nominee and the words “Fuck Trump And His Wall” and “Arrogant Lying Racist Sexist.”

Waters also read “Why Cannot the Good Prevail,” a poem written in 2004 following the election of President George W. Bush, and again voiced his support for Palestine while criticizing the government of Israel. A group of children joined him on stage wearing shirts that read “Derriba El Muro” for The Wall track “Another Brick in the Wall Part 2” and he closed out the set and the festival with “Comfortably Numb.” All six of the acts will return to Indio next weekend for a second installment of Desert Trip.

Watch audience-shot video highlights captured by Fake Fan from Sunday below:

[Roger Waters – Pigs (Three Different Ones)]

[Roger Waters – Another Brick in the Wall Part 2]

[Roger Waters – Wish You Were Here]

[Roger Waters – One Of These Days]

[Roger Waters – Comfortably Numb]

[The Who – Won’t Get Fooled Again]

[The Who – Eminence Front]

[The Who – Baba O’Riley]

[The Who – My Generation]

[The Who – I Can’t Explain]


The Who at Empire Polo Club

  • I Can't Explain
  • The Seeker
  • Who Are You
  • The Kids Are Alright
  • I Can See for Miles
  • My Generation  
  • Behind Blue Eyes
  • Bargain
  • Join Together
  • You Better You Bet
  • 5:15
  • I'm One
  • The Rock
  • Love, Reign O'er Me
  • Eminence Front
  • Amazing Journey
  • Sparks
  • The Acid Queen
  • Pinball Wizard
  • See Me, Feel Me
  • Baba O'Riley
  • Won't Get Fooled Again


Roger Waters at Empire Polo Club

  • Speak to Me  
  • Breathe  
  • Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun  
  • One of These Days  
  • Time  
  • Breathe (Reprise)  
  • The Great Gig in the Sky  
  • Money  
  • Us and Them  
  • Fearless  
  • You'll Never Walk Alone  
  • Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Parts I-V)  
  • Welcome to the Machine  
  • Have a Cigar  
  • Wish You Were Here  
  • Unknown Song  
  • Pigs on the Wing 1  
  • Pigs on the Wing 2  
  • Dogs  
  • Pigs (Three Different Ones)  
  • The Happiest Days of Our Lives  
  • Another Brick in the Wall Part 2  
  • Mother  
  • Run Like Hell  
  • Brain Damage  
  • Eclipse  
  • Why Cannot the Good Prevail  
  • Vera  
  • Bring the Boys Back Home  
  • Comfortably Numb  

Tour Dates for The Who