The Who Announces New Album ‘Who’ & Shares Single


The Who will release a new album simply titled Who via Polydor Records on December 6. Not only did the band unveil the single “Ball & Chain,” The Who also announced a U.K. tour set for early-2020 and celebrated the news with an acoustic set at a private party in New York City.

Who, the long-awaited follow-up to 2006’s Endless Wire, was recorded during sessions in London and Los Angeles earlier this year. Pete Townshend co-produced the 11-track effort with D. Sardy and enlisted Dave Eringa to handle vocal production. Pete and Roger Daltrey are backed by the longtime Who rhythm section of drummer Zak Starkey and bassist Pino Palladino and the LP also features contributions from Simon Townshend, Benmont Tench, Carla Azar, Joey Waronker and Gordon Giltrap.

“I think we’ve made our best album since Quadrophenia in 1973, Pete hasn’t lost it, he’s still a fabulous songwriter, and he’s still got that cutting edge,” said Daltrey in a statement about the new LP. Read what Townshend had to say below:

This album is almost all new songs written last year, with just two exceptions. There is no theme, no concept, no story, just a set of songs that I (and my brother Simon) wrote to give Roger Daltrey some inspiration, challenges and scope for his newly revived singing voice. Roger and I are both old men now, by any measure, so I’ve tried to stay away from romance, but also from nostalgia if I can. I didn’t want to make anyone feel uncomfortable. Memories are OK, and some of the songs refer to the explosive state of things today. I made new home studio demos of all these songs in the summer of 2018 using a wide collection of instruments old and new. We started recording as The Who in March 2019, and have finished now in late August just in time to make some vinyl . . . maybe even some cassettes . . ready for release in November.

Listen to the single “Ball & Chain” below:

Artwork for the album was created by Sir Peter Blake and unveiled at the opening of the Pace contemporary art gallery on Thursday. Pete and Roger played a set with Simon Townshend that included takes on Who classics “The Kids Are Alright,” “Pinball Wizard,” “Behind Blue Eyes” and “Won’t Get Fooled Again.” Watch fan-shot video of the set captured by Cary L.:

The Who’s U.K. tour starts in Manchester on March 16 and then heads to Dublin on March 18, Newcastle on March 21, Glasgow on March 23, Leeds on March 25 and Cardiff on March 30. From there, the band hits Birmingham on April 1, Nottingham on April 3, Liverpool on April 6 and London on April 8. Tickets go sale next Friday, September 20 at 10 a.m. local time.

Who Tracklist

  1. All This Music Must Fade
  2. Ball And Chain
  3. I Don’t Wanna Get Wise
  4. Detour
  5. Beads On One String
  6. Hero Ground Zero
  7. Street Song
  8. I’ll Be Back
  9. Break The News
  10. Rockin’ In Rage
  11. She Rocked My World

Tour Dates for The Who