The Velvet Underground To Issue ‘Loaded’ 45th Anniversary Edition


The Velvet Underground‘s iconic Loaded LP was issued in 1970 and to celebrate the album’s 45th anniversary an expanded, six-disc set will be released on October 30. The six-disc set contains stereo, mono as well as surround mixes, rarities and live recordings.

Dubbed Loaded: Re-Loaded 45th Anniversary Edition the new set contains:

  • – The original album remastered in both stereo and mono.
  • – A selection of demos, early versions and alternate mixes from that era.
  • – A newly remastered/re-edited version of Live At Max’s Kansas City.
  • – Two high resolution mixes, plus a surround sound mix in DTS and Dolby Digital.
  • – An unreleased May 1970 concert recorded in Philadelphia.
  • The first two discs feature remastered stereo and mono versions of the album along with various outtakes, and the mono mixes for the unissued singles: “Rock & Roll” and “Lonesome Cowboy Bill.” Disc Three allows fans to explore the creative process behind many of the songs on the album with more than 20 demos, early versions and alternate mixes.

    Producers of the box set have remastered a recording of Velvet Underground Live At Max’s Kansas City on August 23, 1970 – aka the day Lou Reed left the band – as the box set’s fourth disc. Not only does the remastered recording of the show at the famed NYC nightclub feature the performances from the original 1972 album, the also disc includes additional performances selected from the expanded version of the album that Rhino introduced in 2004.

    Disc Five contains a previously unreleased Velvet Underground club performance. According to a press release, the performance was recorded on May 9, 1970 at the Second Fret in Philadelphia by Bob Kachnycz, a fan who hitchhiked to the show and recorded it on reel-to-reel. Among the many interesting aspects of this “new” recording is that the band was down to a trio that night: Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison and Doug Yule, who alternated between bass and drums to fill in for Moe Tucker, who was pregnant at the time. Seven songs from Loaded are represented on the previously unreleased recording including “Cool It Down,” “Oh! Sweet Nuthin'” and “Sweet Jane.”

    The final disc is an audio only DVD that features three different mixes of Loaded:

    – Surround Sound Remix in DTS and Dolby Digital
    – 96/24 High resolution Stereo Downmix
    – 96/24 High resolution Original Stereo Mix

    The Surround Sound and Stereo Downmix features a slightly re-sequenced track listing to include the segue that was originally planned for “I Found A Reason/Head Held High.”

    Check out the full track listing for the new box set:

    Disc One: Loaded Remastered

    1. “Who Loves The Sun”
    2. “Sweet Jane” – Full Length Version
    3. “Rock & Roll” – Full Length Version
    4. “Cool It Down”
    5. “New Age”
    6. “Head Held High”
    7. “Lonesome Cowboy Bill”
    8. “I Found A Reason”
    9. “Train Round The Bend”
    10. “Oh! Sweet Nuthin'”
    11. Session Outtakes:

    12. “I’m Sticking With You” – New Remix
    13. “Ocean”
    14. “I Love You”
    15. “Ride Into The Sun”

    Disc Two: Loaded Remastered:

      Promotional Mono Version

    1. “Who Loves The Sun”
    2. “Sweet Jane” – Full Length Version
    3. “Rock & Roll” – Full Length Version
    4. “Cool It Down”
    5. “New Age”
    6. “Head Held High”
    7. “Lonesome Cowboy Bill”
    8. “I Found A Reason”
    9. “Train Round The Bend”
    10. “Oh! Sweet Nuthin'”
    11. Singles and B-Sides

    12. “Who Loves The Sun”
    13. “Oh! Sweet Nuthin'”
    14. “Rock & Roll” *
    15. “Lonesome Cowboy Bill” *

    Disc Three: Demos, Early Versions and Alternate Mixes Demos

    1. “Rock & Roll” – Demo
    2. “Sad Song” – Demo
    3. “Satellite Of Love” – Demo
    4. “Walk And Talk” – Demo
    5. “Oh Gin” – Demo
    6. “Ocean” – Demo
    7. “I Love You” – Demo
    8. “Love Makes You Feel Ten Feet Tall” – Demo Remix
    9. “I Found A Reason” – Demo
    10. Early Versions

    11. “Cool It Down” – Early Version, Remix
    12. “Sweet Jane” – Early Version, Remix
    13. “Lonesome Cowboy Bill” – Early Version, Remix
    14. “Head Held High” – Early Version, Remix
    15. “Oh! Sweet Nuthin'” – Early Version, Remix
    16. Alternate Mixes

    17. “Who Loves The Sun” – Alternate Mix
    18. “Sweet Jane” – Alternate Mix
    19. “Cool It Down” – Alternate Mix
    20. “Lonesome Cowboy Bill” – Alternate Mix
    21. “Train Round The Bend” – Alternate Mix
    22. “Head Held High” – Alternate Mix
    23. “Rock & Roll” – Alternate Mix

    Disc Four: Live At Max’s Kansas City Remastered Disc

    1. “I’m Waiting For The Man”
    2. “White Light/White Heat”
    3. “I’m Set Free”
    4. “Sweet Jane”
    5. “Lonesome Cowboy Bill”
    6. “New Age”
    7. “Beginning To See The Light”
    8. “I’ll Be Your Mirror”
    9. “Pale Blue Eyes”
    10. “Candy Says”
    11. “Sunday Morning”
    12. “After Hours”
    13. “Femme Fatale”
    14. “Some Kinda Love”
    15. “Lonesome Cowboy Bill” – Version 2

    Disc Five: Live At Second Fret, Philadelphia, 1970*

    1. “I’m Waiting For The Man”
    2. “What Goes On”
    3. “Cool It Down”
    4. “Sweet Jane”
    5. “Rock & Roll”
    6. “Some Kinda Love”
    7. “New Age”
    8. “Candy Says”
    9. “Head Held High”
    10. “Train Round The Bend”
    11. “Oh! Sweet Nuthin'”
    12. *previously unreleased

    Disc Six: Audio DVD

    • 96/24 Hi-Resolution Surround Sound Remix
    • 96/24 Hi-Resolution Stereo Downmix
    • 96/24 Hi-Resolution Original Stereo Mix