The The Announces 2024 North American Fall Tour Dates & 1st New Album In 24 Years

Ensoulment follows the band led by Matt Johnson’s 2000 LP, NakedSelf.

By Nate Todd May 21, 2024 1:12 pm PDT

English post-punk outfit THE THE will issue their first studio album in 24 years, Ensoulment, on September 6 via Cinéola/earMUSIC. The group led by singer-songwriter Matt Johnson shared the lead single, “Cognitive Dissident,” as well as 2024 North American Tour dates.

The The’s last studio album, NakedSelf, arrived on February 29, 2000. While Johnson’s project turned to soundtracking films in the 2000s, Ensoulment marks The The’s first non-soundtrack LP in nearly a quarter century.


Following initial recording at his Studio Cinéola in London, Johnson convened with long-standing The The members James Eller (bass), DC Collard (keyboards), Earl Harvin (drums) and Barrie Cadogan (lead guitar) at Real World Studios near Bath for additional tracking.

The record also saw contributions from Gillian Glover (backing vocals), Terry Edwards (horns), Sonya Cullingford (fiddle) and Danny Cummings (percussion). Additionally, Ensoulment features the reurn of previous The The collaborator Warne Livesey (1986’s Infected and 1989’s Mind Bomb) who co-produced the LP with Johnson.

Preview Ensoulment with “Cognitive Dissident” below:

At the end of The The’s 2017 feature length documentary, The Inertia Variations, Johnson performs a song called “We Can’t Stop What’s Coming,” an elegy for his older brother Andrew (AKA artist Andy Dog), who passed away in 2016 and whose art has graced the cover of The The albums including Ensoulment.

“It was not an easy song to write,” Matt said of “We Can’t Stop What’s Coming.” “That was the first time I’d sung in many years. I enjoyed it but found it very emotional.”

The experience, however, spurred Johnson to bring back The The as a live band, hitting the road for their The Comeback Special Tour in 2018. While the pandemic got in the way of further plans, The The are set to return to North America — following a UK/Europe tour — this fall for their first extended NA trek since 2018.

The tour kicks off at the Tabernacle in Atlanta on October 11. Among the stops are New York City, Boston, Toronto, Chicago, Denver, Seattle, Vancouver and Oakland. The tour will wrap at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on November 8.

Tickets for the North American shows go on sale to the general public on Friday, May 24 at 10 a.m. local time.


Find The The’s World Tour routing with ticket info below.

Loading tour dates

Ensoulment Tracklist:

  1. Cognitive Dissident
  2. Some Days I Drink My Coffee By The Grave Of William Blake
  3. Zen & The Art Of Dating
  4. Kissing The Ring Of POTUS
  5. Life After Life
  6. I Want To Wake Up With You
  7. Down By The Frozen River
  8. Risin’ Above The Need
  9. Linoleum Smooth To The Stockinged Foot
  10. Where Do We Go When We Die?
  11. I Hope You Remember (the things I can’t forget)
  12. A Rainy Day In May
JamBase Collections