The Number Line: The First Leg Of Trey Anastasio Band 2017 Tour By The Numbers


Tonight, Phish guitarist Trey Anastasio kicks off the second leg of touring with his Trey Anastasio Band outfit at The Fillmore in Philadelphia. Anastasio led the group through 13 performances earlier this year between a pair of shows at The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York on April 14 – 15 and a concert at Toronto’s Danforth Music Hall on May 7. In honor of TAB’s return to the road we’ve broken down the eventful first leg of the tour by the numbers.

As statistical guru Scott Marks noted, the first leg of Trey Anastasio Band’s 2017 Tour was reminiscent of Phish’s “jukebox tours” in the summers of 1998 and 2010 when the quartet debuted 14 and 10 covers respectively. TAB debuted a whopping 11 covers over the course of the 13 shows they’ve played thus far starting with Portugal. The Man’s “Feel It Still” and the traditional Irish ditty “The Parting Glass” on opening night in Port Chester and culminating with a take on Broken Social Scene’s “Cause = Time” in Toronto. Along the way Anastasio and his mates honored musicians we’ve lost and local heroes with a few curveballs thrown in for good measure. Take a trip down the number line for a look at the first leg of TAB tour:

TAB 2017 Stats Through 13 Shows

  • 6,585 – Days since the last “Silicone Fairy”
  • 74 – Unique Songs Played
  • 26 – Different Covers Played
  • 17 – One-Timers [“A Case of Ice & Snow,” “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” “Back In The USA,” “Basically Frightened,” Call Me The Breeze,” “Cause=Time,” “Cocaine,” “Ether Sunday,” “On The Road Again,” “Show Of Life,” “Speak To Me,” “Sweet Dreams Melinda,” “The Way I Feel,” “Windora Bug,” “Invisible Knife,” “Greyhound Rising” and “Happy Birthday To You”]
  • 13:17 – Longest Live Phish Track From Tour [5/2 “Mr. Completely”]
  • 13 – Shows / Festivals
  • 11 – Cover Debuts [“Feel It Still,” “The Parting Glass,” “On The Road Again,” “Work Song,” “Basically Frightened,” “Delta Lady,” “Call Me The Breeze” (Jam), “Cocaine” (Jam), “Back In The U.S.A.,” “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” and “Cause=Time”]
  • 6 – Songs played every night (except shows treated as two-night stands): [“The Parting Glass,” “Magilla,” “Curlew’s Call,” “Money Love & Change,” “Valentine” and “Sand”]
  • 4 – Songs from Paper Wheels not played [“Never,” “Flying Machine,” “Paper Wheels” and “Cartwheels”]
  • 2 – Original Debuts [“Everything’s Right” and “Come Together”]
  • 2 – Songs from Bar 17 [“Goodbye Head” and “A Case of Ice & Snow”]
  • 1 – Song from One Man’s Trash [“The Way I Feel”]
  • 1 – Song from 18 Steps [“Dark & Down”]
  • 0:40 – Shortest LivePhish Track From Tour [5/5 “Happy Birthday To You”]
  • 0 – Number of repeats played at The Capitol Theatre
  • 0 – Times TAB played “Quantegy”

Tour Dates for
Trey Anastasio Band