The Motet Announces Upcoming Release Of Eric Krasno Produced ‘Totem’ LP


Colorado funk revivalists The Motet have announced the upcoming release of a new studio album. The Eric Krasno (Lettuce/Soulive) produced Totem is due out July 8 and today The Motet have unveiled its catchy first single “Damn!”

Totem features contributions from singer Lyle Divinsky, who officially joined The Motet earlier this year. “There was a month and a half between the time I joined the band and when we went into the studio,” explained Divinsky in a press release. “I wound up writing the lyrics and melodies to four songs, and re-wrote the lyrics to two. It gave me and the band an opportunity to really connect musically. We’re deeply proud of this album and it’s very exciting to have this new material to push out as we begin this next phase of The Motet’s journey.”

The album was written collectively by the seven members of the band. Former member Jans Ingber contributes percussion on all 12 tracks, while other guests include Matt Pitts, Jason Hann, Tanya Shylock, Nigel Hall, Paul Robertson, Eric “Benny” Bloom and Adrienne Short. In addition to producing the album with The Motet, Eric Krasno adds guitar to two songs on the LP. A pre-order campaign for Totem is currently underway via the group’s Bandcamp page. A variety of packages are available including a CD signed by all members of The Motet.

Listen to “Damn!” the first single off Totem:

Totem Tracklist

  • 1. The Truth
  • 2. Fool No More
  • 3. Know it Too Well
  • 4. Rippin’ Herb
  • 5. Damn!
  • 6. Solar Plexus
  • 7. So High
  • 8. Cretan
  • 9. Danger
  • 10. Cloak and Dagger
  • 11. Back it Up
  • 12. Contraband

Tour Dates for
The Motet