The Beatles Announce ‘The White Album’ Deluxe 50th Anniversary Edition


A deluxe 50th-anniversary edition of The Beatles 1968 self-titled double-album affectionately known as The White Album will be released by Apple Corps Ltd./Capitol/UMe on November 9. The set features the record’s original 30 tracks, newly mixed by producer Giles Martin and mix engineer Sam Okell in stereo and in 5.1 surround audio, as well as an additional 27-seven early acoustic demos and 50 session outtakes, most of which have never been released.

As Variety notes, the six-disc super deluxe edition of The BEATLES “represents the first time the album has been remixed and presented with additional demos and session recordings, although several were released on the group’s Anthology collections in the 1990s.” Some of the newly shared material includes John Lennon’s demo of “Jealous Guy” (presented as “Child Of Nature”), George Harrison’s “Sour Milk Sea” demo and Paul McCartney’s early recording of “Junk,” along with “Not Guilty” and “What’s The New Mary Jane?” outtakes.

The set’s six CDs and Blu-ray disc “are housed in a slip-sleeved 164-page hardbound book, with pull-out reproductions of the original album’s four glossy color portrait photographs of John, Paul, George and Ringo [Starr], as well as the album’s large fold-out poster with a photo collage on one side and lyrics on the other. The beautiful book is illustrated with rare photographs, reproductions of handwritten and notated lyrics, previously unpublished photos of recording sheets and tape boxes, and reproduced original White Album print ads.”

Back In The U.S.S.R. – Remix, Outtake & Demo

The BEATLES (The White Album) Super Deluxe Tracklist

Disc 1: The BEATLES (The White Album) 2018 Stereo Mix

  1. Back In The U.S.S.R.
  2. Dear Prudence
  3. Glass Onion
  4. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  5. Wild Honey Pie
  6. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill
  7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  8. Happiness Is A Warm Gun
  9. Martha My Dear
  10. I’m So Tired
  11. Blackbird
  12. Piggies
  13. Rocky Racoon
  14. Don’t Pass Me By
  15. Why Don’t We Do It In The Road
  16. I Will
  17. Julia

Disc 2: The BEATLES (The White Album) 2018 Stereo Mix

  1. Birthday
  2. Yer Blues
  3. Mother Nature’s Son
  4. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide, Except Me And My Monkey
  5. Sexy Sadie
  6. Helter Skelter
  7. Long, Long, Long
  8. Revolution I
  9. Honey Pie
  10. Savoy Truffle
  11. Cry Baby Cry
  12. Revolution 9
  13. Good Night

Disc 3: Esher Demos

  1. Back In The U.S.S.R.
  2. Dear Prudence
  3. Glass Onion
  4. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
  5. The Continuing Story Of Bungalow Bill
  6. While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  7. Happiness Is A Warm Gun
  8. I’m So Tired
  9. Blackbird
  10. Piggies
  11. Rocky Racoon
  12. Julia
  13. Yer Blues
  14. Mother Nature’s Son
  15. Everybody’s Got Something To Hide, Except Me And My Monkey
  16. Sexy Sadie
  17. Revolution
  18. Honey Pie
  19. Cry Baby Cry
  20. Sour Milk Sea
  21. Junk
  22. Child Of Nature
  23. Circles
  24. Mean Mr. Mustard
  25. Polythene Pam
  26. Not Guilty
  27. What’s The New Mary Jane

Disc 4: Sessions

  1. Revolution I (Take 18)
  2. A Beginning (Take 4) / Don’t Pass Me By (Take 7)
  3. Blackbird (Take 28)
  4. Everybody’s Got Something to Hide, Except Me and My Monkey (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  5. Good Night (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  6. Good Night (Take 10 with a guitar part from Take 5)
  7. Good Night (Take 22)
  8. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da (Take 3)
  9. Revolution (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  10. Revolution (Take 14 – Instrumental backing track)
  11. Cry Baby Cry (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  12. Helter Skelter (First version – Take 2)

Disc 5: Sessions

  1. Sexy Sadie (Take 3)
  2. While My Guitar Gently Weeps (Acoustic version – Take 2)
  3. Hey Jude (Take 1)
  4. St. Louis Blues (Studio jam)
  5. Not Guilty (Take 102)
  6. Mother Nature’s Son (Take 15)
  7. Yer Blues (Take 5 with guide vocal)
  8. What’s the New Mary Jane (Take 1)
  9. Rocky Raccoon (Take 8)
  10. Back in the U.S.S.R. (Take 5 – Instrumental backing track)
  11. Dear Prudence (Vocal, guitar & drums)
  12. Let It Be (Unnumbered rehearsal)
  13. While My Guitar Gently Weeps (Third version – Take 27)
  14. (You’re so Square) Baby, I Don’t Care (Studio jam)
  15. Helter Skelter (Second version – Take 17)
  16. Glass Onion (Take 10)

Disc 6: Sessions

  1. I Will (Take 13)
  2. Blue Moon (Studio jam)
  3. I Will (Take 29)
  4. Step Inside Love (Studio jam)
  5. Los Paranoias (Studio jam)
  6. Can You Take Me Back? (Take 1)
  7. Birthday (Take 2 – Instrumental backing track)
  8. Piggies (Take 12 – Instrumental backing track)
  9. Happiness is a Warm Gun (Take 19)
  10. Savoy Truffle (Instrumental backing track)
  11. Martha My Dear (Without brass and strings)
  12. Long, Long, Long (Take 44)
  13. I’m so tired (Take 7)
  14. I’m so tired (Take 14)
  15. The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill (Take 2)
  16. Why don’t we do it in the road? (Take 5)
  17. Julia (Two rehearsals)
  18. The Inner Light (Take 6 – Instrumental backing track))
  19. Lady Madonna (Take 2 – Piano and drums)
  20. Lady Madonna (Backing vocals from take 3)
  21. Across the Universe (Take 6)