The Antlers Announce New Album ‘Green To Gold’ & Share Single


The Antlers will release Green To Gold, their first new album in seven years, on March 26 through ANTI- Records. The album features the lead single, “Solstice,” which was shared today with an accompanying video.

Following the release of 2014’s Familiars, The Antlers’ lead singer and primary songwriter Peter Silberman experienced hearing issues that forced him to move from Brooklyn to the quieter confines of Upstate New York, which was where he was raised. He suffered another ailment while recording his 2017 solo album Impermanence when he required surgery for lesions on one of his vocal cords.

“Doctors prescribed vocal rest — long periods every day without talking or singing,” Silberman stated. “I took these health obstacles as a sign that I should change course for a little while. I hadn’t made a full stop like that since The Antlers began.”

Silberman and The Antlers’ percussionist Michael Lerner were brought together in 2019 for a tour in support of the 10th anniversary of their album, Hospice. That reunion helped rejuvenate the project that became Green To Gold.

“On that tour, trying out my rehabilitated voice on older songs and reconnecting to our audience, I realized how important this was to me, and to them,” Silberman stated. “After each show, fans would share deeply personal stories of their own losses, illnesses and struggles, and insist that this music had been their life raft. That rejuvenated me, and cemented my decision to revive the project.”

Silberman and Lerner wrote the 10 songs making up Green To Gold between 2017 and 2020. The album was produced and engineered by Silberman and recorded at Harrington Road in New Paltz, New York. Among the additional contributors were guitarists Dave Harrington and Tim Mislock, multi-instrumentalists Jon Natchez and Kelly Pratt, banjo player David Moore, cellist Brent Arnold and viola/violin player Will Harvey.

“I think this is the first album I’ve made that has no eeriness in it,” Silberman stated. “I set out to make Sunday morning music.”

The video for “Solstice” is the third in a series of 10 prepared for Green To Gold, joining the 2020 singles “Wheels Roll Home” and “It Is What It Is,” which also appear on the record. The series of music videos was developed with directors Derrick Belcham and Emily Terndrup and dancers Bobbi-Jene Smith and Or Schraiber.

“‘Solstice’ is a flashback to the infinite days of peak childhood summer, innocent barefoot hikes, staying outside all afternoon and late into the evening, well past it being too dark to see,” Silberman stated. “But it’s remembered from the vantage of a present day that feels unbearably long rather than joyously endless. It’s an invocation of those simpler times, an attempt to conjure the lightness of youth, before life got so damn complicated.”

Watch the “Solstice” video below:

Green To Gold Tracklist

  1. Strawflower
  2. Wheels Roll Home
  3. Solstice
  4. Stubborn Man
  5. Just One Sec
  6. It Is What It Is
  7. Volunteer
  8. Green To Gold
  9. Porchlight
  10. Equinox

Support JamBase
Like Us on Facebook