Thao & The Get Down Stay Down Announce New Album ‘Temple’ & North American Tour, Share Single


Thao & the Get Down Stay Down will release Temple, the Oakland-based band’s fifth studio album, through Ribbon Music on May 15. In addition to unveiling a video for the LP’s title track, Thao Nguyen and company also detailed a summer tour in support of Temple.

Nguyen self-produced the 10-track follow-up to 2016’s A Man Alive with longtime band mate Adam Thompson. Thao recently came out after a life spent keeping her sexuality to herself in an aim to prevent turmoil from her family and her Vietnamese culture. “But that shit will kill you,” Thao said.

“I have divided myself into so many selves. I am nervous, but hopeful that in belonging to myself, I can still belong to my family, and my Vietnamese community, especially the elders.” She continued, “I believe that shame has made my work more general, when I’ve always wanted to be specific. This record is about me finally being specific. If you listen to my music, I want you to know who you are dealing with.”


Thompson co-wrote five songs on Temple with Thao. Mikaelin “Blue” Bluespruce was tapped to mix the record. “Blue mixes more in the hip-hop and pop world and that’s what we wanted,” explained Nguyen, who recently married her girlfriend. “More fidelity, more upfront beat and groove-heavy mixes that are filled out and immersive…high highs, low lows, lush tones.”

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down kick off their tour in the Pacific Northwest with stops in Tacoma on June 17, Vancouver on June 18, Seattle on June 19 and Portland on June 20. It’s then off to California for shows in Sacramento, Solana Beach, Los Angeles and San Francisco. Next comes a run through the Midwest featuring concerts in Minneapolis, Chicago, Nashville, Cincinnati, Pittsburgh and Toronto. From there, the band hits Burlington, Boston, New York City, Philadelphia, Washington D.C., Carrboro (North Carolina), Atlanta, Birmingham, Houston, Austin, Dallas, Oklahoma City, Kansas City, Denver and Salt Lake City. Watch the “Temple” video below:


Temple Tracklist

  1. Temple
  2. Phenom
  3. Lion on the Hunt
  4. Pure Cinema
  5. Marauders
  6. How Could I
  7. Disclaim
  8. Rational Animal
  9. I’ve Got Something
  10. Marrow