Sylvan Esso Announces New Album ‘Free Love’ & Shares Single

By Andy Kahn Jul 21, 2020 7:55 am PDT

Sylvan Esso will release a new album, Free Love, on September 25 through Loma Vista Recordings. The record features the lead single, “Ferris Wheel.”

Sylvan Esso is comprised of multi-instrumentalist/producer Nick Sanborn and vocalist Amelia Meath (of Mountain Man), who wrote, recorded and produced the 10-track Free Love at their studio located in a forest in North Carolina. The new record finds Meath and Sanborn taking a more collaborative approach, instead of filling distintive roles as they had on past albums, 2017’s What Now and their 2014 self-titled debut.

“At the heart of Sylvan Esso is this really fun argument,” Meath stated. “Nick wants things to sound unsettling, but I want you to take your shirt off and dance. We’re trying to make pop songs that aren’t on the radio, because they’re too weird. It’s a pop band, but we’re talking about complicated emotions.”

Sylvan Esso’s fall 2019 WITH performances that saw the duo expand to a 10-piece ensemble, helped inform the material on Free Love. A live album and concert film documenting the WITH experience was issued earlier this year. Meath and Sanborn shared the following statement regarding the new album and single:

It’s a record about being increasingly terrified of the world around you and looking inward to remember all the times when loving other people seemed so easy, so that you can find your way back to that place.

This first single, “Ferris Wheel,” is about discovering your power and awkwardly figuring out how to wield it. It’s for the summer, it’s for you, we hope you like it.

Recorded at an abandoned amusement park during the COVID-19 pandemic, the “Ferris Wheel” video can be viewed below:

Sylvan Esso also shared a visual for the album intro, “What If.” Watch here:

Free Love Tracklist

  1. What If
  2. Ring
  3. Ferris Wheel
  4. Train
  5. Numb
  6. Free
  7. Frequency
  8. Runaway
  9. Rooftop Dancing
  10. Make It Easy
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections