Sturgill Simpson Confirms Bluegrass Album ‘Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions’

By Scott Bernstein Oct 14, 2020 7:34 am PDT

Sturgill Simpson will release a bluegrass album entitled Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions this Friday, October 16. Simpson revealed the news of the 20-track LP via an Instagram post.

Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 was recorded at The Butcher Shoppe recording studio in Nashville. Sturgill’s impressive band for the collection of 20 reworked songs from his back catalog includes fiddler Stuart Duncan, drummer Miles Miller, guitarist Tim O’Brien, mandolinist Sierra Hull, bassist Mike Bub and banjo players Scott Vestal and Mark Howard.

“Welp,..was hoping to surprise everybody on Thursday but somebody somewhere (Germany) got all excited and just couldn’t hold their horses,” Simpson wrote on Instagram. “These are how these songs were originally written and I decided — after climbing the ropes of country music stardom and completely destroying that career to make a rock ‘n’ roll record — I have great ambitions of a life of gravel lots and Porta Potties. I’m gonna be a bluegrass musician,” Sturgill proclaimed during a livestream originating from Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium in June featuring bluegrass renditions of his tunes as per The Tennessean.

Take a look at the cover art for the LP:

Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions Tracklist

  1. All Around You
  2. All the Pretty Colors
  3. Breakers Roar
  4. I Don’t Mind
  5. I Wonder
  6. Just Let Go
  7. Life Ain’t Fair
  8. A Little Light
  9. Life of Sin
  10. Long White Line
  11. Living the Dream
  12. Old King Coal
  13. Railroad of Sin
  14. Sitting Here Without You
  15. Sometimes Wine
  16. The Storm
  17. Time After All
  18. Turtles All the Way Down
  19. Voices
  20. Water in a Well
  • Sturgill Simpson Performs Bluegrass Concert At The Ryman

    Sturgill Simpson Performs Bluegrass Concert At The Ryman

    Sturgill Simpson delivered an entire bluegrass set during a livestream benefit concert on Friday night from the legendary Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

JamBase Collections