The Strokes Announce New Album ‘The New Abnormal’ & Share Single


The Strokes will release a new album entitled The New Abnormal on April 10 via Cult/RCA. The band’s first album in seven years features the lead single, “At The Door.”

The Strokes confirmed the new record during a performance at a rally yesterday at the University of New Hampshire for Senator Bernie Sanders where they played The New Abnormal track “Bad Decisions” and showed the “At The Door” video. Their recent New Year’s Eve concert in Brooklyn included the debut of “Ode To The Mets,” which also appears on the band’s first full length since 2013’s Comedown Machine.

The Strokes — vocalist Julian Casablancas, guitarists Nick Valensi and Albert Hammond Jr., bassist Nikolai Fraiture and drummer Fabrizio Moretti — recorded the nine-track new LP with producer Rick Rubin at his Shangri-La Studios in Malibu. The New Abnormal album cover is adapted from Bird on Money, a painting by the late Jean-Michel Basquiat. Watch the “At The Door” video, directed by Mike Burakoff, below:


The New Abnormal Tracklist

  1. The Adults Are Talking
  2. Selfless
  3. Brooklyn Bridge To Chorus
  4. Bad Decisions
  5. Eternal Summer
  6. At The Door
  7. Why Are Sundays So Depressing
  8. Not The Same Anymore
  9. Ode To The Mets

Tour Dates for The Strokes