Steely Dan Welcomes David Crosby On ‘Royal Scam’ Night At Beacon

By Scott Bernstein Oct 17, 2019 6:58 am PDT

David Crosby sat-in with Steely Dan for the second time in as many nights on Wednesday at the Beacon Theatre in New York City. Croz’s guest appearance came following Steely Dan’s complete performance of their 1976 album, The Royal Scam.

Steely Dan began the second night of their five-show residency at the Beacon with all nine songs from The Royal Scam. Donald Fagen and company then played a string of staples that included “Time Out Of Mind,” “Black Friday,” “Hey Nineteen,” “Peg” and “Dirty Work.” David Crosby made his first appearance of the night following a cover of The Crusaders’ “Keep That Same Old Feeling.” Crosby led Steely Dan through “Wooden Ships” as he did the previous night.

The pairing of “Bodhisattva” and “My Old School” ended Steely Dan’s main set after Crosby’s first guest appearance. David Crosby was on hand again for the “Reelin’ In The Years” encore. Steely Dan continues the residency on Friday with “Popular Demand” night.

Watch a clip of Crosby jamming with Steely Dan on “Reelin’ In The Years” thanks to abrahamster2:


Steely Dan at Beacon Theatre

Royal Scam
  • Kid Charlemagne
  • The Caves of Altamira  
  • Don't Take Me Alive
  • Sign in Stranger
  • The Fez  
  • Green Earrings
  • Haitian Divorce  
  • Everything You Did  
  • The Royal Scam  
  • Time Out of Mind
  • Black Friday
  • Hey Nineteen
  • Peg
  • Dirty Work
  • Keep That Same Old Feeling  
  • Wooden Ships  
  • Bodhisattva
  • My Old School
  • Reelin' in the Years
  • A Man Ain't Supposed to Cry  

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections