Son Volt Announces New Album ‘Electro Melodier’ & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein May 13, 2021 9:18 am PDT

On July 30 Son Volt will release a new studio album entitled Electro Melodier via Transmit Sound/Thirty Tigers. Jay Farrar and company previewed their 10th studio album with its opening track, “Reverie.”

The follow-up to 2019’s Union features 14 tracks written and produced by Farrar that address such hot button topics as the pandemic, love and politics. Jay Farrar is joined on Electro Melodier by fellow Son Volt members Mark Spencer (piano, organ, acoustic slide, lap steel, backing vocals), Andrew DuPlantis (bass, backing vocals), Chris Frame (guitar) Mark Patterson (drums, percussion). Son Volt will support the LP with select dates this summer and fall.

“I had more time to devote to and concentrate on the writing,” noted Farrar of a long period of self-quarantining. “We were fortunate in that we had just released Union and toured the country, so we were off cycle. It was still a rough year, but as a songwriter, I was able to make the most of it.”

Electro Melodier was recorded at Red Pill Recording Studio in Jay’s longtime hometown of St. Louis. Additional recording took place in Brooklyn at Tape Kitchen. Spencer and Jacob Detering provided production assistance.

Stream Son Volt’s “Reverie” below:

Electro Melodier Tracklist

  1. Reverie *
  2. Arkey Blue *
  3. The Globe *
  4. Diamonds and Cigarettes *
  5. Lucky Ones ^
  6. War On Misery ^
  7. Livin’ In the USA *
  8. Someday is Now *
  9. Sweet Refrain *
  10. The Levee On Down ^
  11. These Are The Times ^
  12. Rebetika ^
  13. The Globe / Prelude ^
  14. Like You ^
  • * Mixed by John Agnello at Dark Pines, Graham, NC, Additional mixing at The Rabbit Hole, Raleigh, NC
  • ^ Mixed by Jacob Detering at Red Pill Recording Studio, St. Louis, MO
JamBase Collections