Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Reveals Class Of 2024 Inductees

This year’s inductees include Dave Matthews Band, Cher, Mary J. Blige, Ozzy Osbourne and A Tribe Called Quest, among others.

By Scott Bernstein Apr 22, 2024 6:35 am PDT

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced its Class of 2024 inductees. Dave Matthews Band, Cher, Mary J. Blige and A Tribe Called Quest are among the artists that will take their place in the institution at a ceremony held on October 19.

Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & The Gang and Ozzy Osbourne join DMB, Cher, Blige and ATCQ as this year’s entrants in the performer category. Additionally, the Rock Hall will honor Jimmy Buffett, Dionne Warwick, Norman Whitfield and MC5 with the Musical Excellence Award, while blues greats Big Mama Thornton, Alexis Korner and John Mayall will be feted with the Musical Influence Award and Suzanne de Passe will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award.


Lionel Richie and Ryan Seacrest unveiled the Rock Hall’s Class of 2024 on Sunday during American Idol. “Rock & Roll is an ever-evolving amalgam of sounds that impacts culture and moves generations,” said John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation in a statement. “This diverse group of inductees each broke down musical barriers and influenced countless artists that followed in their footsteps.”

The ceremony will stream live on October 19 via Disney+ from the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland. A special culling highlights will air later on ABC and can be viewed on Hulu.

Ozzy Osbourne, Cher, Peter Frampton and Kool & The Gang will be inducted after appearing on the ballot for the first time. Osbourne previously entered the Rock Hall in 2006 as a member of Black Sabbath. Those nominated for the Class of 2024 that will not go in include Oasis, Jane’s Addiction, Mariah Carey, Sinéad O’Connor, Eric B. & Rakim, Sade and Lenny Kravitz.

JamBase Collections