Release Day Picks: May 19th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Matisyahu, The Mountain Goats and a film soundtrack deluxe reissue. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Matisyahu – Undercurrent

The Scoop: Reggae artist Matisyahu went a different route for his sixth studio album, Undercurrent, out today on Fallen Sparks/Thirty Tigers. Matis and his band mates produced the eight-track LP themselves without any help. “It’s my baby. No compromises, full artistic integrity,” said Matisyahu in a statement announcing Undercurrent. Each of the songs on the LP were born out of in-studio improvisations. The singer would watch his mates jam and develop the tracks as instrumentals before he would add lyrics. Patterns from keyboardist Big Yuki connect the songs developed by Matis and his longtime guitarist Aaron Dugan and Dub Trio bassist Stu Brooks and drummer Joe Tomino. Watch the video for “Step Out Into The Light” for a taste of the concept album:

Label: Fallen Sparks/Thirty Tigers

Producer: Matisyahu

Number Of Tracks: 8

Running Time: 68:41

Guest Musicians: Aaron Dugan, Big Yuki, Stu Brooks, Joe Tomino


  1. Step Out Into The Light
  2. Back To The Old
  3. Coming Up Empty
  4. BSP: Blue Sky Playground
  5. Tell Me
  6. Forest Of Faith
  7. Head Right
  8. Driftin’

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Mountain Goats – Goths

The Scoop: The 16th studio album issued by The Mountain Goats was recorded at Blackbird Studio in Nashville. The 12-track effort is the first to complete eschew guitars as frontman John Darnielle stuck to vocals and keys. Bassist Peter Hughes described the album, writing in part “The theme this time around is goth, a subject closer to my heart perhaps than that of any Mountain Goats album previous. And while John writes the songs, as he always has, it feels more than ever like he’s speaking for all of us in the band, erstwhile goths (raises hand) or otherwise, for these are songs that approach an identity most often associated with youth from a perspective that is inescapably adult.” Listen to Darnielle, Hughes, drummer Jon Wurster and multi-instrumentalist Matt Douglas on the single “Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back to Leeds”:

Label: Merge Records

Producer: Brandon Eggleston

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 55:02

Guest Musicians: Everett Drake, Jason Eskridge, Michael Mishaw, Robert Bailey, The National Symphony Chorus


  1. Rain in Soho
  2. Andrew Eldritch Is Moving Back to Leeds
  3. The Grey King and the Silver Flame Attunement
  4. We Do It Different on the West Coast
  5. Unicorn Tolerance
  6. Stench of the Unburied
  7. Wear Black
  8. Paid in Cocaine
  9. Rage of Travers
  10. Shelved
  11. For the Portuguese Goth Metal Bands
  12. Abandoned Flesh

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Various Artists – Singles: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – Deluxe Edition

The Scoop: Cameron Crowe’s love letter to Seattle and the the city’s at the time under-the-radar music scene – Singles – turns 25 this year. To mark the anniversary Sony Legacy is releasing a deluxe edition of the movie’s iconic grunge soundtrack. The two-disc set features the original soundtrack, but it’s the second disc that is full of rarities which fans of the movie will geek out over. The bonus disc includes “Touch Me I’m Dick,” from the movie’s fictional band Citizen Dick, Chris Cornell’s 1992 EP, Poncier (named after Matt Dillon’s character in the movie, Cliff Poncier), as well as a number of songs heard in the film but where not included on the original soundtrack. The set also comes with new liner notes and a track-by-track breakdown of its songs by Crowe. Give a listen to “Missing,” from Cornell’s Poncier EP:

Label: Sony Legacy

Number Of Tracks: 31

Running Time: 02:13:00

Guest Musicians: N/A


  1. Alice in Chains – Would?
  2. Pearl Jam – Breath
  3. Chris Cornell – Seasons
  4. Paul Westerberg – Dyslexic Heart
  5. The Lovemongers – Battle of Evermore
  6. Mother Love Bone – Chloe Dancer/Crown of Thorns
  7. Soundgarden – Birth Ritual
  8. Pearl Jam – State of Love and Trust
  9. Mudhoney – Overblown
  10. Paul Westerberg – Waiting for Somebody
  11. Jimi Hendrix – May This Be Love
  12. Screaming Trees – Nearly Lost You
  13. Smashing Pumpkins – Drown
  14. Citizen Dick – Touch Me I’m Dick (first time on CD)
  15. Chris Cornell – Nowhere But You (Poncier)
  16. Chris Cornell – Spoon Man (Poncier)
  17. Chris Cornell – Flutter Girl (Poncier)
  18. Chris Cornell – Missing (Poncier) (first time on CD)
  19. Alice in Chains – Would? (live) (first time on CD)
  20. Soundgarden – Birth Ritual (live) (first time on CD)
  21. Paul Westerberg – Dyslexic Heart (acoustic) (first time on CD)
  22. Paul Westerberg – Waiting For Somebody (scored acoustic) (previously unreleased)
  23. Mudhoney – Overblown (demo) (previously unreleased)
  24. Truly – Heart and Lungs
  25. Blood Circus – Six Foot Under
  26. Mike McCready – Singles Blues 1 (previously unreleased)
  27. Paul Westerberg – Blue Heart (previously unreleased)
  28. Paul Westerberg – Lost In Emily’s Words (previously unreleased
  29. Chris Cornell – Ferry Boat #3 (previously unreleased)
  30. Chris Cornell – Score Piece #4 (previously unreleased)

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Jeffrey Greenblatt, Ryan Dembinsky, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.


Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles