Release Day Picks: March 2nd New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Kyle Hollingsworth, Jonathan Wilson and Toubab Krewe. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Kyle Hollingsworth – 50

The Scoop: Today, The String Cheese Incident keyboardist Kyle Hollingsworth turns 50. Kyle celebrates the occasion with the release of his latest solo album, which is fittingly titled 50. Hollingsworth spent the last year and a half recording material he didn’t think was a proper fit for SCI with his current band lineup, marking the first proper release from the KHB. The keyboardist also enlisted an impressive list of guests to collaborate on the LP including Andy Hall of The Infamous Stringdusters, Jennifer Hartswick of the Trey Anastasio Band, The Motet Horns, DJ Logic and his SCI band mate Jason Hann. Listen to “Prime,” the first single off the new LP:

Label: SCI Fidelity

Producer: Kyle Hollingsworth

Number Of Tracks: 12

Guest Musicians: Andy Hall, The Motet Horns, Jennifer Hartswick, DJ Logic, Jason Hann, Kim Dawson, Darren Kramer, Paige Sandusky, Tanya Shylock


  1. Onset
  2. Wyatt Earp’s Tale
  3. Let Me In
  4. All Falls Apart
  5. Finding Our Way
  6. Prime
  7. Stuff
  8. Tumbling
  9. Come On
  10. So Fine
  11. Take The Ride
  12. Offset

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Jonathan Wilson – Rare Birds

The Scoop: Following a 2017 that saw him produce the Grammy-nominated Father John Misty album Pure Comedy and tour as member of Roger Waters’ band, Jonathan Wilson begins 2018 with his latest solo album Rare Birds. Recorded while Wilson was in the studio contributing to Waters’ solo album Is This The Life We Really Want?, the 13-track follow-up to 2013’s Fanfare is the first of Wilson’s albums to include drum machines and synthesizers. Father John Misty’s Josh Tillman was among the musicians Wilson enlisted to contribute to Rare Birds. His Roger Waters’ band mates Jess Wolfe and Holly Lessig (of Lucius), vocalist Lana Del Rey and New Age icon Laraaji also appear on the album produced by Wilson and recorded at his Fivestarstudios in Echo Park, Los Angeles. Check out the video for “Loving You” featuring Laraaji and Lana Del Rey below:

Label: Bella Union

Producer: Jonathan Wilson

Number Of Tracks: 13

Running Time: 1:18:41

Guest Musicians: Josh Tillman, Lucius (Jess Wolfe and Holly Lessig), Lana Del Rey, Laraaji, Greg Leisz, Jake Blanton, Joey Waronker, Derek Stein, Pete Jacobson, Drew Erickson, Ziad Rabie, Tom Lea, Jeff Ramuno, John Kirby, Krystle Warren, Omar Velasco, Dan Horne


  1. Trafalgar Square ^
  2. Me
  3. Over The Midnight
  4. There’s A Light ^
  5. Sunset Blvd
  6. Rare Birds ^
  7. Hairflips *
  8. Mariam Montague
  9. Loving You +
  10. Living With Myself #
  11. Hard To Get Over
  12. Hi Ho the Righteous
  13. Mullholland Queen
  • ^ backing vocals by Lucius
  • * backing vocals by Josh Tillman/Father John Misty
  • + backing vocals by Laraaji
  • # backing vocals by Lana Del Rey

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Toubab Krewe – Stylo

The Scoop: Toubab Krewe issued their sophomore album TK2 in 2010 and the band today finally releases album #3, Stylo. After a two-year hiatus, Toubab has put together an eight-song studio album that continues an evolution of the group’s blend of Appalachian and West African music traditions. Toubab Krewe has always thrown the notion of genre to the wind and Stylo features more of the same as influences range from New Orleans funk to Pakistani film scores to Wassoulou grooves. Electric guitar mixes with keyboards, djembe, bass and drums throughout the experimental effort. Watch the animated video for the album’s first single, “That Damn Squash”:

Label: Toubab Krewe Music

Producer: Justin Kimmel, Drew Heller & Luke Quaranta

Number Of Tracks: 8

Running Time: 35:10

Guest Musicians: Lamine Soumano, Sekou Bah, Wassa Coulibaly & Petit Adam Diarra


  1. That Damn Squash
  2. Night Shade
  3. Stylo
  4. Saba Meniya
  5. Salut
  6. Lafia
  7. Miriama
  8. Southern Tracks

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.