Release Day Picks: March 24th New Album Highlights


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Craig Finn and Pimps Of Joytime. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Craig Finn – We All Want The Same Things

The Scoop: The Hold Steady frontman Craig Finn follows-up his last effort, the 2015 LP Faith In The Future with his third solo album to date. Finn referenced “co-dependency jams” when describing the songs on the album that are also “about normal people trying to help themselves, trying to move forward, and in some cases trying just to survive. All the while they are negotiating what space the others in their lives can occupy.” Regular collaborator Josh Kaufman produced and contributed to the album, as did Joe Russo, Stuart Bogie, Jon Shaw, Jordan McLean and others including Finn’s The Hold Steady band mate Tad Kubler. Here’s “Preludes”:

Label: Partisan Records

Producer: Josh Kaufman

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 43:58

Guest Musicians: Josh Kaufman, Joe Russo, Sam Kassirer, Caithlin De Marrais, Annie Nero, Stuart Bogie, Jon Shaw, Jordan McLean, Matt Barrick, Tad Kubler


  1. Jester & June
  2. Preludes
  3. Ninety Bucks
  4. Birds Trapped in the Airport
  5. God in Chicago
  6. Rescue Blues
  7. Tangletown
  8. It Hits When It Hits
  9. Tracking Shots
  10. Be Honest

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Pimps Of Joytime – Third Wall Chronicles

The Scoop: Brooklyn via New Orleans soul-rockers The Pimps Of Joytime have unveiled a collection of 10 new funk anthems titled Third Wall Chronicles. Pimps mastermind Brian Jay teamed with Steve Berlin of Los Lobos to co-produce the band’s fourth full-length studio effort. Anthony Cole not only guests on the album, he also penned the opening track – “This Funk (Give Me A Hand).” Brian Jay & Co. also recruited legendary keyboardist Ivan Neville to contribute to the LP. Stream “Mud,” the song off Third Wall Chronicles featuring Ivan Neville.

Label: Sugar Road Records

Producer: Brian Jay & Steve Berlin

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 38:22

Guest Musicians: Ivan Neville, Anthony Cole


  1. This Funk (Give Me A Hand)
  2. Play
  3. On Tap
  4. Jack Stackin’
  5. Little Bit Of Something
  6. Reverend Soul
  7. Mud
  8. Everywhere I Go
  9. Neara To Your Fire
  10. Joytime Radio

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.