Release Day Picks: June 8th New Album Highlights

By Team JamBase Jun 8, 2018 6:24 am PDT

Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Dave Matthews Band, The Mother Hips and Howlin Rain. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Dave Matthews Band – Come Tomorrow

The Scoop: Dave Matthews Band’s ninth studio album Come Tomorrow is all about variety. Not only did DMB record the 14-track effort in multiple studios spanning Seattle, Los Angeles and Charlottesville, but they employed four different producers (John Alagia, Rob Moore, Rob Cavallo and Mark Batson). The long-awaited follow-up to 2012’s Away From The World includes a mix of material as old as 12 years, some songs that were debuted in 2016 and a handful that have yet to be played live or were unveiled in concert over the past three weeks. Variety also extends to the subject matter. “[Come Tomorrow has] love songs to my children. Love songs to the planet. There are songs about lust. I think my wonder at the universe is on the record. It’s got things that deal with death,” Dave told Vulture about DMB’s ninth studio album. “It took a long time to make, but I feel good about the result.” Listen to the album’s lead single “Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin)”:

Label: RCA

Producer: John Alagía, Mark Batson, Rob Cavallo, Rob Evans

Number Of Tracks: 14

Running Time: 54:26

Guest Musicians: Boyd Tinsley, LeRoi Moore, Brandi Carlile


  1. Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin)
  2. Can’t Stop
  3. Here On Out
  4. That Girl Is You
  5. She
  6. Idea Of You
  7. Virginia In The Rain
  8. Again and Again
  9. bkdkdkdd
  10. Black and Blue Bird
  11. Come on Come On
  12. Do You Remember
  13. Come Tomorrow
  14. When I’m Weary

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Mother Hips – Chorus

The Scoop: It’s been 25 years since guitarists Tim Bluhm and Greg Loiacono co-founded The Mother Hips while attending Chico State. The veteran California-based band’s first studio release of new material in five years, Chorus was recorded with drummer John Hofner and guest bassist Jackie Greene and producer Karl Derfler during sessions held in Oakland. Unlike previous, more spontaneous studio releases, extensive demoing was done prior to the official Chorus sessions. The album is the first following Bluhm’s nearly fatal speed flying accident and features lyrics written while he was confined to a hospital bed during a lengthy recovery process. “We were thinking about the Greek chorus, and how they were sort of the interpreters, the collective consciousness of the play,” Loiacono stated. “That led to thinking about the wider Mother Hips world and all the fans who are such an important part of everything we do. For us, Chorus means that there’s more to The Mother Hips than just the musicians and the lead singers. There’s this whole other side to the band that’s made up of everybody who’s part of this journey with us.” Check out the video for the single “It’s Alright” below:

Label: Blue Rose Music

Producer: Karl Derfler

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 34:17

Guest Musicians: Jackie Greene


  1. Clean Me Up
  2. Didn’t Pay The Bill
  3. End Of The Chorus
  4. It’ll Be Gone
  5. Hit Me There
  6. It’s Alright
  7. I Went Down Hard
  8. January
  9. High Note Hitters
  10. Meet Me On The Shore

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Howlin Rain – The Alligator Bride

The Scoop: The latest album from Oakland’s Howlin Rain was inspired by “classic rock formations such as the Grateful Dead’s Europe ’72, Mountain Bus’ 1974 burner Sundance, and Free’s masterpiece of atmospheric, minimalist blues, 1969’s Fire and Water.” The seven-song LP, The Alligator Bride, was again recorded at Eric Bauer’s San Francisco-based studio Mansion — the same location Howlin Rain recorded their previous album, 2015’s Mansion Songs. “The guiding principle for The Alligator Bride was to create ‘Neal Cassady Rock,’” mastermind Ethan Miller said. “Which is to say, high energy, good-times adventure music, driving the hippie bus, shirtless and stoned, up for four days straight, and extremely fuzzy around the edges.” The first release on Miller’s Siler Current Records features fellow band members Jeff McElroy, Dan Cervantes and Justin Smith as well as the single “Missouri,” which you can check out below:

Label: Silver Current Records

Producer: Howlin Rain, Eric Bauer

Number Of Tracks: 7

Running Time: 40:39

Guest Musicians: Richard Danielson


  1. Rainbow Trout
  2. Missouri
  3. Speed
  4. The Wild Boys
  5. Alligator Bride
  6. In The Evening
  7. Coming Down

Stream / Download / CD/LP

Compiled by Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein.

JamBase Collections