Release Day Picks: July 8th New Albums


Each week Release Day Picks profiles new LPs and EPs Team JamBase will be checking out on release day Friday. This week we highlight new albums by Eric Krasno, The Motet and BadBadNotGood. Read on for more insight into the records we have all queued up to spin.

Eric Krasno – Blood From A Stone

The Scoop: Soulive and Lettuce guitarist Eric Krasno moved from New York City to Maine to record Blood From A Stone with Dave Gutter of Rustic Overtones. Joined by Krasno’s Lettuce band mate Ryan Zoidis, the majority of the album was written in Gutter’s converted barn recording space over the course of just a few days. Featuring the first tracks to include Kraz’s vocals, the guitarist got help from fellow six-stringer Derek Trucks, as well as Tedeschi Trucks Band vocalist Alecia Chakour and guitarist Tash Neal and drummer Chris St. Hilaire of The London Souls. Check out the animated video for the album’s second single, “On The Rise,” directed by Brooklyn-based interdisciplinary artist Curtis Peel:

Label: Feel Music Group/Round Hill

Producer: Dave Gutter

Number Of Tracks: 10

Running Time: 43:35

Guest Musicians: Derek Trucks, Alecia Chakour, Ryan Zoidis, Dave Gutter, Jon Roods, The London Souls – Tash Neal & Chris St. Hilaire


  1. Waiting On Your Love
  2. Torture
  3. Jezebel
  4. Unconditional Love
  5. Please Ya
  6. On The Rise
  7. Curse Letter (Feat. Derek Trucks)
  8. Natalie
  9. Wicked This Way (Feat. Alecia Chakour)
  10. When The Day

Stream / Download / CD/LP

The Motet – Totem

The Scoop: Much has changed for Colorado funk outfit The Motet in the two years since the release of their last album. Jans Ingber has left the group, while the band has added a handful of new members including vocalist Lyle Divinsky. Today The Motet unveils Totem, a 12-track effort produced by Eric Krasno (Lettuce/Soulive) which captures the band’s transitional phase. Divinsky makes his studio debut with The Motet while Ingber contributes percussion to each track. Lyle not only sings, but he wrote lyrics and melodies for four songs and re-wrote the lyrics to two tunes. The time in the studio helped the vocalist connect with his new mates. There’s also plenty of special guests including Matt Pitts, Jason Hann, Tanya Shylock, Nigel Hall, Paul Robertson, Eric “Benny” Bloom and Adrienne Short. Watch the video for “Fool No More”:

Label: Self-Released

Producer: Eric Krasno

Number Of Tracks: 12

Running Time: 53:32

Guest Musicians: Matt Pitts, Jason Hann, Tanya Shylock, Nigel Hall, Paul Robertson, Eric “Benny” Bloom, Adrienne Short and Jans Ingber


  1. The Truth
  2. Fool No More
  3. Know it Too Well
  4. Rippin’ Herb
  5. Damn!
  6. Solar Plexus
  7. So High
  8. Cretan
  9. Danger
  10. Cloak and Dagger
  11. Back it Up
  12. Contraband

Stream / Download / CD/LP

BadBadNotGood – IV

The Scoop: Before there was Vulfpeck, there was BadBadNotGood, Toronto’s soulful jazz quartet (originally a trio) with a penchant for hip hop and collaboration. On their fourth full album, BBNG seems to be consciously moving freely around the various corners of jazz fusion, but the overarching feel is in slower R&B grooves with vocal accompaniment. IV is definitely more an album for chilling and/or making babies than it is for funky dance parties. For listeners looking to check out BBNG for the first time, I wouldn’t recommend starting here (start at the beginning), but IV is surely another clever milestone for the group’s evolving catalog. Have a look a listen to “Time Moves Slow” featuring Sam Herring from Future Islands on vocals:

Label: Innovative Leisure

Producer: Self Produced

Number Of Tracks: 11

Running Time: 50:01

Guest Musicians: Sam Herring (vocals), Colin Stetson (sax), Kaytranada (production), Mick Jenkins (raps), Charlotte Day Wilson (vocals)


  1. And That, Too
  2. Speaking Gently
  3. Time Moves Slow
  4. Confessions Pt. II
  5. Lavender
  6. Chompy’s Paradise
  7. IV
  8. Hyssop of Love
  9. Structure No. 3
  10. In Your Eyes
  11. Cashmere

Stream / Download / CD, Vinyl, and Digital

Compiled by Ryan Dembinsky, Andy Kahn and Scott Bernstein